858.283.4771
膀胱
癌症

質子療法治療膀胱癌


像激光一樣精準地對抗膀胱癌

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是癌症放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠在這個敏感而充滿挑戰的區域內,通過高劑量放射來選擇性地靶向膀胱腫瘤。

與較早的被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可為2毫米以內的膀胱癌提供精確的放射治療,並提供最大的護理。 我們可以逐層攻擊膀胱腫瘤,並最大程度地減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 這對膀胱癌患者很重要,因為它位於骨盆附近的敏感結構,包括胃腸和生殖器官。 輻射相關毒性的降低還增加了患者以較少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性。

質子治療膀胱
癌症治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 移行細胞(尿路上皮)癌是膀胱癌的最常見形式,始於器官內部的細胞
  • 膀胱鱗狀細胞癌始於類似於皮膚表面的組織中的扁平薄細胞
  • 腺癌,通常起源於分泌粘液的腺結構
  • 復發性癌症

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護腸,直腸,生殖器和骨髓
  • 在治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少治療的副作用,包括疲勞以及對胃腸和生殖器官的損害
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

質子療法對膀胱癌的益處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可以精確地控制質子,使其直接在布拉格腫瘤中放置布拉格峰(布拉格峰將其最大能量沉積在該處)。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向癌性膀胱腫瘤和組織輸送高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 減少對膀胱周圍健康組織的輻射可使對胃腸,生殖器官(例如前列腺,子宮,卵巢和輸卵管)的損害最小化。 這很重要,因為對這些敏感結構的損壞可能會產生嚴重的副作用,並可能導致繼發性癌症。
  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術還可以減少對骨髓的輻射,從而可以減少與治療有關的疲勞並損害免疫系統。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

膀胱癌
階段與治療

 

根據膀胱癌的分期和類型,可能需要對某些膀胱腫瘤進行手術,化學療法和放射治療的某種組合。 治療選擇還會受到年齡,整體健康狀況和個人喜好的影響。

治療
復發性膀胱癌

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法使醫生能夠更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


膀胱癌治療結果
& 長期影響

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子治療膀胱癌的治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少由於輻射損害胃腸道和生殖器官而造成的長期且可能威脅生命的副作用。 由於減少了對周圍健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,因此還可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Bladder
Cancer

Fight Bladder Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Bladder Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target bladder tumors with high-dose radiation within this sensitive and challenging area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for bladder cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for bladder cancer patients because of its location in the pelvis near sensitive structures, including gastrointestinal and reproductive organs. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Bladder Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Transitional cell (urothelial) carcinoma, which is the most common form of bladder cancer and starts in the cells lining the inside of the organ
  • Squamous cell carcinoma of the bladder that begins in flat thin cells found in tissue that resembles the surface of skin
  • Adenocarcinoma, which typically originates in glandular structures that secrete mucus
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect the bowel, rectum, genitals and bone marrow
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including fatigue and damage to gastrointestinal and reproductive organs
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Bladder Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous bladder tumors and tissues, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Reduced radiation to healthy tissues around the bladder can minimize damage to healthy gastrointestinal and reproductive organs, such as the prostate, uterus, ovaries and fallopian tubes. This is important as damage to these sensitive structures can have significant side effects and may lead to secondary cancers.
  • Our pencil beam scanning technology also reduces radiation to bone marrow, which can reduce treatment-related fatigue and damage to the immune system.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Depending on the stage and type of bladder cancer, some combination of surgery, chemotherapy and radiation for some bladder tumors may be needed. Treatment options are also affected by age, overall health and personal preferences.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy enables doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects due to radiation damage to gastrointestinal and reproductive organs. It also offers the possibility of lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options