858.283.4771
胸圍
癌症
主頁  /  乳腺癌

質子治療乳腺癌治療


像激光一樣精準地抗擊乳腺癌

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是癌症放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠在此復雜區域內以高劑量放射線選擇性靶向乳腺腫瘤。

與較早的乳腺癌被動散射質子治療方法相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可在2毫米範圍內精確地為乳腺癌提供質子放射治療,並提供最大的照顧。 我們會逐層攻擊腫瘤,並儘量減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 對於乳腺癌患者而言,這一點很重要,因為他們可能在以後的生活中由於先前的輻射暴露而面臨繼發癌症,肺損傷和重大心臟事件的風險。 輻射相關毒性的降低還增加了患者以較少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性。

乳腺癌質子治療
治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 早期乳腺癌
  • 局部晚期乳腺癌(II期和III期)
  • 原位導管癌
  • 三陰性乳腺癌
  • 復發性乳腺癌

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護您的心臟,肺部和脊髓
  • 乳腺癌治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少放射療法的副作用,包括心臟事件,肺癌和肺炎的風險
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

對接受保乳治療的左側乳腺癌婦女的治療計劃的測試發現,與X射線輻射相比,質子治療可導致:

81
減少對肺的輻射劑量1
96
減少對另一乳房的輻射1
99
減少對心臟的輻射劑量1

質子療法對乳腺癌的益處

瓦里安質子療法治療乳腺癌

  • 我們的乳腺癌治療中心的鉛筆束掃描技術可精確控制質子,以將布拉格峰(它們最大的能量沉積點)直接置於腫瘤中。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向癌性乳腺腫瘤和組織提供高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 研究發現,針對乳腺癌的質子療法可更好地覆蓋淋巴結,同時大大降低了對心臟和肺部的平均輻射劑量。 最終,這會降低心臟事件,肺癌和肺炎的風險。
  • 與光子和X射線PBI技術相比,採用質子治療的局部乳房照射(PBI)可提供更均勻的輻射分佈,並減少暴露於健康的乳房組織,心臟和肺部。 它還與降低的毒性和許多優異的結果有關。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

乳腺癌分期
和質子療法

 

根據乳腺癌的分期,對於某些乳腺腫瘤可能需要聯合治療乳房切除術或乳房切除術,化學療法和放射療法。 乳腺癌的類型,年齡,整體健康狀況和個人喜好也會影響治療方案。

在第一階段,乳腺癌在這個階段相對較小,根本沒有擴散到淋巴結,或者僅擴散到前哨淋巴結的很小區域。 雖然外科手術是最常見的治療方法,但通常建議在手術後對I期乳腺癌進行放射治療,以降低癌症擴散或複發的風險。

II期乳腺癌比I期乳腺癌大和/或已擴散到少數淋巴結。 雖然手術是II期乳腺癌的最常見治療方法,但通常建議在手術後進行放射治療,以降低癌症擴散或複發的風險。

第三階段的腫瘤大於5厘米,或者癌症正在擴散到附近的皮膚或肌肉組織中,或者已經擴散到附近的許多淋巴結。 雖然手術是III期乳腺癌的最常見治療方法,但通常建議在乳腺癌手術後進行放射治療,以降低癌症擴散或複發的風險。

在這個IV時,乳腺癌已經從乳房和附近的淋巴結擴散到身體的其他部位。 藥物治療(例如化學療法和/或激素治療)是推薦給IV期乳腺癌女性的主要治療方法。 在此階段,質子放射治療可用於縮小腫瘤或控制疼痛。

治療
復發性乳腺癌

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


乳腺癌治療結果
& 長期影響

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子治療乳腺癌的治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少長期且可能危及生命的副作用,例如由於心臟輻射受損而引起的心髒病發作。 由於減少了對周圍健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,因此還可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

我想長壽,不想冒心髒病或心髒病的危險,所以我選擇了質子療法。 與張博士協商後,我才知道加州質子就是我想要的地方。 他在我身上呆了很多時間,我對他的能力很有信心。
瑪蒂·謝爾頓(Marti Shelton)
乳腺癌患者

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Home  /  Breast Cancer

Fight Breast Cancer
with Laser-like Precision

Proton Therapy for Breast Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target breast tumors with high-dose radiation within this intricate area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers proton radiation treatment for breast cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for breast cancer patients who may face the risk of secondary cancers, lung injuries and major cardiac events later in life due to previous radiation exposure. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Breast Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Early stage breast cancer
  • Locally advanced breast cancer (Stage II and III)
  • Ductal carcinoma in-situ
  • Triple-negative breast cancer
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your heart, lungs and spinal cord
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of radiation therapy, including risk of cardiac events, lung cancer and pneumonitis
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

A test of treatment plans for women with left-sided breast cancer undergoing breast-conserving therapy found that compared to X-ray radiation, proton therapy resulted in:

Reduced radiation dose to the lung1
Reduced radiation to the other breast1
Reduced radiation dose to the heart1

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Breast Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous breast tumors and tissues, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Studies have found that proton therapy provides better coverage of the lymph nodes, while substantially reducing average radiation doses to the heart and lungs. This ultimately results in a reduced risk of cardiac events, lung cancer and pneumonitis.
  • Partial breast irradiation (PBI) with proton therapy provides a more even distribution of radiation and reduces exposure to healthy breast tissue, heart and lungs compared with photon and X-ray PBI techniques. It has also been associated with reduced toxicity and many excellent outcomes.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Proton Therapy
Right for You?


Depending on the stage of breast cancer, combined treatments of mastectomy or lumpectomy surgery, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some breast tumors. Treatment options also are affected by the type of breast cancer, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Breast cancer is relatively small at this stage and has not spread to the lymph nodes at all, or has spread to only a very small area in the sentinel lymph node. While surgery is the most common treatment, radiation therapy for stage I breast cancer is often recommended after surgery to reduce the risk of cancer spreading or returning.

These breast cancers are larger than stage I cancers and/or have spread to a few lymph nodes. While surgery is the most common treatment, radiation therapy is often recommended after surgery to reduce the risk of cancer spreading or returning.

Tumors at this stage are larger than 5 cm, or the cancer is growing into nearby skin or muscle tissue or has spread to many nearby lymph nodes. While surgery is the most common treatment, radiation therapy is often recommended after breast cancer surgery to reduce the risk of cancer spreading or returning.

At this stage, cancer has spread beyond the breast and nearby lymph nodes to other parts of the body. Drug therapy such as chemotherapy and/or hormone therapy are the main treatments recommended for women with stage IV breast cancer. At this stage, proton radiation treatment may be used to shrink tumors or control pain.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.

Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as heart attacks due to radiation damage to the heart. It also offers the possibility of lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

Marti Shelton
I wanted to live a long life and didn’t want to risk having a heart attack or heart damage, so I chose proton therapy. After my consultation with Dr. Chang, I just knew that California Protons is where I wanted to be. He spent so much time with me and I felt very confident in his ability.
Marti Shelton
Breast Cancer Patient

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options