858.283.4771
食管
癌症

對抗食道癌
激光般的精度


質子治療食管癌

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是癌症放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠在這個敏感而充滿挑戰的區域內通過高劑量放射線選擇性地靶向食道腫瘤。

與較早的被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可為2毫米以內的食道癌提供精確的放射治療,並提供最大的護理。 我們可以逐層攻擊腫瘤,並最大程度地減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 考慮到心臟和肺部相對於食道的緊密程度,這對於食道癌患者很重要。 這些敏感器官的放射劑量過多會導致放射性肺炎,肺部並發症,心髒病和心力衰竭。 輻射相關毒性的降低還增加了患者以更少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性,並使放射到食道的副作用最小化。

食道癌
治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 鱗狀細胞癌始於食管表面內層的扁平薄細胞,最常見於上部和中部
  • 腺癌,通常起源於分泌粘液的腺結構
  • 復發性癌症

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護胃,心臟,肺和脊髓
  • 在治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少治療的副作用,包括吞嚥,噁心,嘔吐,體重減輕,燒心和脫水等疼痛
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

治療計劃分析表明,通過質子束治療,用於食道的輻射劑量實際上是沿其路徑傳遞到心臟的:

75
X射線輻射傳遞到心臟的輻射劑量1
10
質子束療法將放射劑量傳遞到心臟1

質子治療食管癌的好處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可以精確地控制質子,使其直接在腫瘤中放置布拉格峰(布拉格峰最大的能量沉積點)。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向癌性食道腫瘤和組織輸送高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 減少對食道周圍健康組織的輻射可以大大減少對心臟,肺,胃和脊髓的損害,並有可能減少與心臟和肺有關的疾病和死亡。 這包括降低發生放射性肺炎,肺部並發症,心髒病和心力衰竭的風險。
  • 特殊技術可與質子治療一起使用,以極高的技術精度靶向運動的腫瘤。 這對於食道癌患者很重要,因為每次呼吸時,食道都會移動。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

Is
質子治療
適合你?

 

根據食道癌的分期,某些食道腫瘤可能需要內鏡,手術,化學療法和放射線的聯合治療。 食道癌的類型,年齡,總體健康狀況和個人喜好也會影響治療方案。

治療
復發性癌症

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


治療結果和
長期影響

聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子療法治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少諸如放射性肺炎,肺部並發症,心髒病和因輻射引起的心力衰竭等長期且可能威脅生命的副作用損害心臟和肺部。 由於減少了對周圍健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,它也可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Esophageal
Cancer

Fight Esophageal Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Esophageal Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target esophageal tumors with high-dose radiation within this sensitive and challenging area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for esophageal cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for esophageal cancer patients given how closely the heart and lungs lie in relation to the esophagus. Excess radiation dose to these sensitive organs can result in radiation pneumonitis, lung complications, heart disease and heart failure. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays and minimizes the side effects of radiation to the esophagus.

Esophageal Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Squamous cell carcinoma, which begins in flat, thin cells found in the surface lining of the esophagus, most often in the upper and middle portions
  • Adenocarcinoma, which typically originates in glandular structures that secrete mucus
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect the stomach, heart, lungs and spinal cord
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including pain with swallowing, nausea, vomiting, weight loss, heartburn and dehydration
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Treatment planning analyses suggest that the radiation dose intended for the esophagus that is instead delivered to the heart along its path is significantly less with proton beam therapy:

75
Radiation dose delivered to the heart with X-ray radiation1
10
Radiation dose delivered to the heart with proton beam therapy1

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Esophageal Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous esophageal tumors and tissues, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Reduced radiation to healthy tissues around the esophagus can significantly minimize damage to the heart, lungs, stomach and spinal cord and potentially reduce cardiac- and lung-related illness and death. This includes lowering the risk for radiation pneumonitis, lung complications, heart disease and heart failure.
  • Specialized techniques can be used with proton therapy to target a moving tumor with great technical precision. This is important for esophageal cancer patients because every time you breathe, your esophagus moves.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Depending on the stage of esophageal cancer, combined treatments of endoscopic procedures, surgery, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some esophageal tumors. Treatment options are also affected by the type of esophageal cancer, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects as radiation pneumonitis, lung complications, heart disease and heart failure due to radiation damage to the heart and lungs. It also may lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options