858.283.4771
الجهاز الهضمي
السرطان.

محاربة سرطان الجهاز الهضمي
مع الدقة الشبيهة بالليزر


العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان المعدة والأمعاء

تعد تكنولوجيا مسح شعاع قلم رصاص المعدلة بشدة من كاليفورنيا بروتونز شكلًا دقيقًا للغاية من العلاج الإشعاعي للسرطان الذي يمكن أطبائنا من استهداف أورام الجهاز الهضمي (GI) بشكل انتقائي الموجودة في المناطق المعقدة والحساسة في الجهاز الهضمي بإشعاع عالي الجرعة.

مقارنةً بعلاج البروتون السلبي القديم المتناثر ، فإن تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص لدينا تقدم بدقة العلاج الإشعاعي لأورام المعدة والمستقيم والشرج والقولون وغيرها من أورام الجهاز الهضمي السفلي في حدود 2 مم وبأقصى درجات الرعاية. نهاجم الأورام طبقة تلو الأخرى ونقلل من التعرض الضار للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة. هذا مهم لأن أورام المعدة والقولون والمستقيم تتطلب عادة جرعات قوية من الإشعاع وتقع بالقرب من الأنسجة والأعضاء السليمة المعرضة للإشعاع. يقلل تقليل السمية المرتبطة بالإشعاع من الآثار الجانبية للإشعاع ويزيد أيضًا من احتمالية أن يتمكن المرضى من إتمام العلاج بعد انقطاع أو تأخير أقل.

الجهاز الهضمي السرطان
تفاصيل العلاج

ما نتعامل معه

  • سرطان القولون
  • سرطان المستقيم
  • سرطان الشرج
  • سرطان المعدة أو المعدة
  • حدد السرطان المتكرر والسرطان النقيلي

ما الذي نوفره لك

  • استهدف الورم فقط
  • احمِ المثانة والأمعاء الدقيقة والكبيرة والمعدة والكليتين والأعضاء التناسلية والحبل الشوكي
  • حافظ على جودة حياتك أثناء العلاج
  • الحد من الآثار الجانبية للعلاج الإشعاعي ، بما في ذلك الغثيان والقيء وحرقة المعدة والتقلصات وسوء الامتصاص (عدم القدرة على امتصاص العناصر الغذائية من الطعام) والإسهال والجفاف والعجز الجنسي
  • يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي بسبب الإشعاع

فوائد العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان الجهاز الهضمي

  • تتحكم تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص الخاصة بنا بدقة في البروتونات لوضع ذروة Bragg - النقطة التي يودعون عندها أقصى طاقتهم - مباشرة في الورم. هذا يسمح لنا بمعالجة أشكال الورم الأكثر تعقيدًا وتغيير الجرعة داخل الورم.
  • يسمح العلاج المتقدم بالبروتون للأطباء بتوصيل أشعة الجرعات بشكل أكثر انتقائية إلى أورام القولون والمستقيم والخلايا السرطانية الموجودة في الجهاز الهضمي ، وتقليل الجرعة إلى الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة والأعضاء الحرجة. في بعض الحالات ، ثبت أن هذا يقدم معدلات علاج أعلى من العلاج الإشعاعي بالأشعة السينية حتى في بعض الحالات الأكثر صعوبة.
  • نظرًا لأن العلاج بالبروتون يمكنه تركيز جرعته الإشعاعية بشكل أفضل على الهدف والحد منه في مكان آخر ، يمكن للأطباء تقليل الإشعاع على الأنسجة السليمة حول الورم والذي يمكن أن يؤثر على قدرتك على هضم واستقلاب العناصر الغذائية وتخليص نظامك من النفايات.
  • يمكن استخدام التقنيات المتخصصة مع العلاج بالبروتون لاستهداف ورم متحرك بدقة فنية كبيرة. هذا مهم لمرضى سرطان الجهاز الهضمي الذين يعالجون من سرطان المعدة.
  • على عكس التكنولوجيا القديمة ، يمكن تحميل خطة العلاج في الكمبيوتر وإكمالها في غضون دقائق. تعتبر العلاجات أيضًا غير جراحية ومريحة حتى يتمكن المرضى من العودة إلى أنشطتهم اليومية بشكل أسرع.

Is
العلاج بالبروتون
مناسب لك؟

 

أصبحت العلاجات المشتركة للجراحة والعلاج الكيميائي والإشعاعي العلاج القياسي للغالبية العظمى من سرطانات الجهاز الهضمي. اعتمادًا على المرحلة وموقع ونوع السرطان ، قد تختلف خيارات العلاج وخطر الآثار الجانبية. تتأثر خيارات العلاج أيضًا بالعمر والصحة العامة والتفضيلات الشخصية.

يُشار أيضًا إلى سرطان المعدة ، وتتطور سرطانات المعدة في المعدة ويتم قياسها بمدى انتشار السرطان في الطبقات الخمس لجدار المعدة وما إذا كان هناك انتشار للمرض في العقد اللمفاوية المجاورة. يتطلب سرطان المعدة أحيانًا علاجًا إشعاعيًا بعد الجراحة. اعتمادًا على مرحلة الورم والحالة الصحية العامة للمريض ومدى الجراحة ، يمكن إعطاء العلاج بالبروتون بالتزامن مع العلاج الكيميائي.

يؤثر هذا النوع من السرطان على أجزاء من الأمعاء الغليظة. اعتمادًا على مرحلة السرطان ، غالبًا ما يتم إعطاء العلاج الإشعاعي لهذا النوع من السرطانات قبل الجراحة أو بعدها. إذا انتشر السرطان على نطاق واسع بعد جدار القولون ، فقد يتم استخدام العلاج بالبروتون لتقليص الأورام على نطاق واسع بعد جدار المستقيم أو السيطرة على الألم.

عادة ما يكون سرطان الشرج هو سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية الذي ينشأ عند الفتحة الخارجية للجهاز الهضمي. يتم علاج هذا النوع من السرطان بشكل شائع بالعلاج الإشعاعي الذي يتم توفيره في نفس الوقت مع العلاج الكيميائي. نظرًا لموقعه ، فإن العلاج الكيميائي هو خيار العلاج الأساسي ، بدلاً من الجراحة ، ويمكن أن يوفر العلاج بالبروتون معالجة إشعاعية أقل سمية يمكن أن تقلل من الآثار الجانبية وتلف الأنسجة المحيطة.

يتكون سرطان القولون في الأمعاء الغليظة. الجراحة هي العلاج الأكثر شيوعًا ، خاصة في المرحلتين الأولى والثانية عندما لا ينتشر السرطان بعد. يوصى أيضًا بالعلاج الكيميائي في مراحل متقدمة من السرطان. يمكن أيضًا التوصية بالعلاج بالبروتون للمساعدة في السيطرة على السرطان.

علاج ل
السرطان المتكرر

غالبًا ما يكون العلاج بالبروتون هو أفضل طريقة للعلاج أورام متكررة في المناطق التي سبق علاجها بالعلاج الإشعاعي.

يمكن أن يكون علاج المناطق المشععة سابقًا أمرًا صعبًا ، خاصة في منطقة الجهاز الهضمي. يمكن أن تكون الجولة الثانية من العلاج الإشعاعي بالأشعة السينية خطيرة للغاية لأن الأنسجة السليمة حول الورم المتكرر لا "تنسى" الجرعة الإشعاعية السابقة بالكامل ، وتستمر أي جرعة مضافة في زيادة خطر إصابة الأنسجة الطبيعية. قد يمكّن العلاج بحزمة البروتون الأطباء من تركيز الجرعة بشكل أفضل على الهدف وتحديدها في مكان آخر ، مما يسمح بإعادة العلاج بالإشعاع في المرضى المختارين.

 


نتائج العلاج و
تأثيرات طويلة المدى

قد يوفر العلاج بالبروتون في مركز كاليفورنيا لعلاج السرطان البروتوني في سان دييغو نتائج مماثلة للإشعاع القياسي بالأشعة السينية ، مع تقليل الآثار الجانبية طويلة المدى والتي قد تهدد الحياة مثل التقرح والانثقاب والنزيف الداخلي بسبب تلف الإشعاع في الجهاز الهضمي منطقة المسالك والحوض. قد يقلل أيضًا من فرص الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي في وقت لاحق من الحياة بسبب انخفاض التعرض للإشعاع للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة بك.

ومع ذلك ، فإن جميع علاجات السرطان لها مزايا وعيوب. تأكد من مناقشة جميع المخاطر المحتملة ، وكذلك خيارات العلاج ، مع طبيب الأورام الخاص بك.

عن العلاج بالبروتون

خيارات التغطية

الأسئلة المتكررة

Fight Gastrointestinal Cancer
with Laser-like Precision

Proton Therapy for Gastrointestinal Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target gastrointestinal (GI) tumors found in the intricate and sensitive areas of the digestive tract with high-dose radiation.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for stomach, rectal, anal, colon and other lower GI tumors within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important as these gastric and colorectal tumors typically require aggressive doses of radiation and are located near healthy tissues and organs that are extremely susceptible to radiation. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity minimizes the side effects of radiation and also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Gastrointestinal Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Colon cancer
  • Rectal cancer
  • Anal cancer
  • Gastric or stomach cancer
  • Select recurrent cancer and metastatic cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your bladder, small and large intestine, stomach, kidneys, genitals and spinal cord
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of radiation therapy, including nausea, vomiting, heartburn, cramping, malabsorption (inability to absorb nutrients from food), diarrhea, dehydration and sexual dysfunction
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Gastrointestinal Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to colorectal tumors and cancerous cells found in the digestive tract, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Because proton therapy can better concentrate its radiation dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, doctors can minimize radiation to healthy tissues around the tumor that can affect your ability to digest and metabolize nutrients and rid your system of waste.
  • Specialized techniques can be used with proton therapy to target a moving tumor with great technical precision. This is important for gastrointestinal cancer patients being treated for stomach cancer.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Proton Therapy
Right for You?


Combined treatments of surgery, chemotherapy and radiation have become the standard treatment for a vast majority of gastrointestinal cancers. Depending on the stage, location and type of cancer, treatment options and risk of side effects may differ. Treatment options are also affected by age, overall health and personal preferences.

Also referred to as gastric cancer, stomach cancers develop in the stomach and are measured by how deep the cancer has spread into the 5 layers of the stomach wall and if there has been spread of disease to the adjacent lymph nodes. Stomach cancer sometimes requires radiation therapy following surgery. Depending on the stage of the tumor, the patient’s overall health status and the extent of surgery, proton therapy can be given concurrently with chemotherapy.

This type of cancer affects parts of the large intestine. Depending on the stage of cancer, radiation therapy for these type of cancers is often given prior to or following surgery. If the cancer has spread widely past the colon wall, proton therapy may be used to shrink tumors widely past the rectal wall or control pain.

Anal cancer is typically a squamous cell carcinoma that arises at the exterior opening of the gastrointestinal tract. This type of cancer is most commonly treated with radiation therapy given concurrently with chemotherapy. Due to its location, chemoradiation is the primary treatment option, instead of surgery, and proton therapy can provide a less toxic radiation treatment that can reduce side effects and damage to surrounding tissues.

Colon cancer forms in your large intestine. Surgery is the most common treatment, especially in stage I and II when the cancer has not yet spread. Chemotherapy is also recommended in more advanced stages of cancer. Proton therapy can also be recommended to help control the cancer.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging, especially in the gastrointestinal area. A second round of X-ray radiation treatment could be too dangerous as the healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as ulceration, perforation and internal bleeding due to radiation damage to the digestive tract and pelvis area. It may also lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options