858.283.4771
胃腸道
癌症

對抗胃腸道癌症
激光般的精度


質子治療胃腸道癌症

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是癌症放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠選擇性地靶向大劑量放射線在消化道複雜和敏感區域發現的胃腸道(GI)腫瘤。

與較早的被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可以為2毫米以內的胃,直腸,肛門,結腸和其他下消化道腫瘤提供精確的放射治療,而且要格外小心。 我們會逐層攻擊腫瘤,並儘量減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 這很重要,因為這些胃癌和大腸腫瘤通常需要激進劑量的輻射,並且位於對輻射極度敏感的健康組織和器官附近。 降低與輻射有關的毒性,可以最大程度地減少輻射的副作用,還可以增加患者以較少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性。

胃腸道癌症
治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 結腸癌
  • 直腸癌
  • 肛門癌
  • 胃癌或胃癌
  • 選擇復發性癌症和轉移性癌症

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護您的膀胱,小腸和大腸,胃,腎臟,生殖器和脊髓
  • 在治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少放射療法的副作用,包括噁心,嘔吐,燒心,痙攣,吸收不良(無法吸收食物中的營養),腹瀉,脫水和性功能障礙
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

質子治療胃腸道腫瘤的好處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可以精確地控制質子,使其直接在腫瘤中放置布拉格峰(布拉格峰最大的能量沉積點)。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向消化道中發現的大腸腫瘤和癌細胞傳遞高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 由於質子療法可以更好地將其輻射劑量集中在靶標上並將其限制在其他位置,因此醫生可以將對腫瘤周圍健康組織的輻射降至最低,這可能會影響您消化和代謝養分的能力,並消除系統的廢物。
  • 特殊技術可與質子治療一起使用,以極高的技術精度靶向運動的腫瘤。 這對於正在接受胃癌治療的胃腸道癌症患者很重要。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

Is
質子治療
適合你?

 

外科,化學療法和放射療法的聯合治療已成為絕大多數胃腸道癌症的標準治療方法。 根據癌症的階段,位置和類型,治療選擇和副作用風險可能有所不同。 治療選擇還受到年齡,整體健康狀況和個人喜好的影響。

胃癌也稱為胃癌,在胃中發展,可以通過癌擴散到胃壁的5層中的深度以及是否疾病擴散到相鄰的淋巴結來衡量。 胃癌有時在手術後需要放療。 根據腫瘤的分期,患者的整體健康狀況和手術程度,質子治療可與化療同時進行。

這種類型的癌症會影響大腸的部分。 根據癌症的階段,通常在手術前或手術後對這些類型的癌症進行放射治療。 如果癌症已廣泛擴散到結腸壁以外,則可以使用質子療法使腫瘤廣泛擴散到直腸壁以外或控制疼痛。

肛門癌通常是在胃腸道外部開口處發生的鱗狀細胞癌。 這種類型的癌症最常見的是在化療的同時進行放射治療。 由於其位置,化學放射是主要的治療選擇,而不是手術,並且質子治療可以提供毒性較小的放射治療,可以減少副作用和對周圍組織的損害。

結腸癌在您的大腸中形成。 手術是最常見的治療方法,尤其是在癌症尚未擴散的I和II期。 還建議在癌症的更晚期進行化學療法。 還可以建議質子治療來幫助控制癌症。

治療
復發性癌症

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性,尤其是在胃腸區域。 第二輪X射線放射治療可能太危險了,因為複發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織沒有完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,並且任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織受傷的風險。 質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。

 


治療結果和
長期影響

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子療法治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少由於輻射損害消化道而導致的長期,可能威脅生命的副作用,例如潰瘍,穿孔和內部出血道和骨盆區域。 由於減少了對周圍健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,它也可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Fight Gastrointestinal Cancer
with Laser-like Precision

Proton Therapy for Gastrointestinal Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target gastrointestinal (GI) tumors found in the intricate and sensitive areas of the digestive tract with high-dose radiation.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for stomach, rectal, anal, colon and other lower GI tumors within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important as these gastric and colorectal tumors typically require aggressive doses of radiation and are located near healthy tissues and organs that are extremely susceptible to radiation. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity minimizes the side effects of radiation and also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Gastrointestinal Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Colon cancer
  • Rectal cancer
  • Anal cancer
  • Gastric or stomach cancer
  • Select recurrent cancer and metastatic cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your bladder, small and large intestine, stomach, kidneys, genitals and spinal cord
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of radiation therapy, including nausea, vomiting, heartburn, cramping, malabsorption (inability to absorb nutrients from food), diarrhea, dehydration and sexual dysfunction
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Gastrointestinal Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to colorectal tumors and cancerous cells found in the digestive tract, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Because proton therapy can better concentrate its radiation dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, doctors can minimize radiation to healthy tissues around the tumor that can affect your ability to digest and metabolize nutrients and rid your system of waste.
  • Specialized techniques can be used with proton therapy to target a moving tumor with great technical precision. This is important for gastrointestinal cancer patients being treated for stomach cancer.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Proton Therapy
Right for You?


Combined treatments of surgery, chemotherapy and radiation have become the standard treatment for a vast majority of gastrointestinal cancers. Depending on the stage, location and type of cancer, treatment options and risk of side effects may differ. Treatment options are also affected by age, overall health and personal preferences.

Also referred to as gastric cancer, stomach cancers develop in the stomach and are measured by how deep the cancer has spread into the 5 layers of the stomach wall and if there has been spread of disease to the adjacent lymph nodes. Stomach cancer sometimes requires radiation therapy following surgery. Depending on the stage of the tumor, the patient’s overall health status and the extent of surgery, proton therapy can be given concurrently with chemotherapy.

This type of cancer affects parts of the large intestine. Depending on the stage of cancer, radiation therapy for these type of cancers is often given prior to or following surgery. If the cancer has spread widely past the colon wall, proton therapy may be used to shrink tumors widely past the rectal wall or control pain.

Anal cancer is typically a squamous cell carcinoma that arises at the exterior opening of the gastrointestinal tract. This type of cancer is most commonly treated with radiation therapy given concurrently with chemotherapy. Due to its location, chemoradiation is the primary treatment option, instead of surgery, and proton therapy can provide a less toxic radiation treatment that can reduce side effects and damage to surrounding tissues.

Colon cancer forms in your large intestine. Surgery is the most common treatment, especially in stage I and II when the cancer has not yet spread. Chemotherapy is also recommended in more advanced stages of cancer. Proton therapy can also be recommended to help control the cancer.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging, especially in the gastrointestinal area. A second round of X-ray radiation treatment could be too dangerous as the healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as ulceration, perforation and internal bleeding due to radiation damage to the digestive tract and pelvis area. It may also lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options