858.283.4771

質子治療術語表


光束傳輸系統 –光束傳輸系統是一系列控制光束的電磁體。 來自迴旋加速器的質子使用真空管線傳輸到每個治療室。

良性腫瘤 –良性腫瘤不是癌。 通常可以將其刪除,並且在大多數情況下,它們不會回來。 良性腫瘤中的細胞不會擴散到身體的其他部位。

布拉格峰 –質子(和其他重的帶電粒子)沉積其大部分能量的點。 當質子穿過物質時,它們會失去能量並逐漸減速。 就在他們休息之前,他們會積蓄峰值能量。

CT掃描 –計算機斷層掃描,也稱為CT或CAT掃描,是一種使用X射線成像觀察體內的無痛,無創方法。 在CT掃描期間,從不同角度拍攝了多個圖像。 計算機將這些圖像組合在一起,以創建軟組織,器官,血管和骨骼的數字橫截面圖像或切片。 切片通常可以合併以創建3-D圖片。

化療 –癌症化學療法涉及使用藥物(口服或靜脈內服用)直接或間接攻擊癌細胞,以殺死它們或減慢其生長。

迴旋加速器 –迴旋加速器使用氫和氧產生質子束以產生等離子體流。 提取質子,將其加速到每秒約100,000英里,然後將其發送到束傳輸系統。 迴旋加速器重約95噸。

劑量藥 –放射劑量師經過專門的培訓,可以測量輻射量並規定適當的輻射劑量。 物理學家和工作人員劑量學專家與您的醫師合作設計治療計劃。 他們還監視放射治療機的正常運行和準確性。

伽瑪刀 –伽瑪刀放射外科手術是一種用於治療惡性和良性腫瘤的放射療法。 已經顯示出對某些非癌性疾病的治療是有益的,包括功能性疾病,例如動靜脈畸形(AVM)和三叉神經痛。

龍門 –加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的三個治療室配備了龍門架,該龍門架圍繞患者旋轉360度,以允許從任何方向進行治療。 每個龍門高三層,重283噸。

固定裝置 –用於在治療過程中正確舒適地安置患者的設備,以使患者的安裝穩定。

強度調製放射治療(IMRT) – IMRT是3-D保形放射療法的高級形式,允許臨床團隊指定腫瘤的放射劑量,同時將劑量限制在周圍組織。 IMRT最常用於治療重要器官和組織附近無癌症的前列腺癌,頭頸癌和其他腫瘤。

惡性腫瘤 –惡性腫瘤是癌,由無法控制的細胞組成。 這些腫瘤中的細胞可以侵入附近的組織並擴散到身體的其他部位。

醫學腫瘤學家 –專長於癌症診斷和治療的醫師。 做出癌症診斷後,由腫瘤科醫生負責向患者解釋癌症診斷和疾病分期的含義。 討論各種治療方案; 推薦最佳治療方案; 提供最佳護理; 並通過具有疼痛和症狀管理的根治性治療和姑息治療來改善生活質量。 如有需要,醫學腫瘤醫師還會開處方並進行全身治療和化療。

轉移 –癌症或疾病從一個器官或身體的一部分傳播到與之不直接相關的另一部分。 有時,細胞會從原始(原發性)癌症部位移開並擴散到其他器官和骨骼,在那裡它們可以繼續生長並在該部位形成另一個腫瘤。 這被稱為轉移或繼發性癌症。

MRI –磁共振成像,也稱為MRI,是一種無痛的成像程序,用於幫助診斷各種情況。 MRI掃描儀使用強大的磁體,無線電波和計算機技術,可以在不使用電離輻射的情況下從各個角度生成器官,軟組織,骨骼和大多數其他內部人體結構的圖片。

被動散射 –進行質子治療的傳統方法,其中束的整形以適應腫瘤,發生在治療噴嘴的外面。

鉛筆束掃描 –鉛筆束掃描是質子治療技術中的最新技術,可將精確劑量的質子治療傳遞給腫瘤。 該技術限制了對周圍組織的輻射暴露。 筆形光束可用於治療成人和兒童患者的實體和復雜的癌性和非癌性腫瘤。

PET掃描 –正電子發射斷層掃描,也稱為PET掃描,是一種檢查細胞代謝功能的成像技術。 它可以用於診斷和跟踪疾病或狀況的進展。 在PET掃描期間,靜脈注射稱為示踪劑的放射性物質。 某些類型的細胞(例如癌細胞)可能比周圍的健康細胞更快地代謝這種物質。 PET掃描使用先進的成像技術,顯示異常代謝的區域,以幫助查明疾病起源於人體的位置以及疾病的進展。

光子 –微小的光或電磁輻射。 X射線和伽馬射線是光子輻射。

前列腺特異性抗原(PSA) –前列腺特異性抗原(PSA)是前列腺細胞產生的蛋白質。 進行PSA測試可幫助診斷和追踪男性前列腺癌。

質子/質子輻射 –質子是在原子核中發現的帶正電的粒子。 質子治療中使用的質子來自於剝離其電子的氫原子。 質子輻射是外束輻射治療的一種形式,通過產生從外部穿透人體的束來實現。 當質子與癌細胞原子中的電子相互作用時,它們傳遞的能量會損壞癌細胞的DNA。 這破壞了特定的細胞功能,包括分裂或增殖的能力。 癌細胞修復此類損傷的能力通常不如正常組織中的細胞。 結果,癌細胞與腫瘤一樣死亡。

質子治療 –質子治療是一種放射治療,它使用質子(亞原子粒子)代替X射線來治療癌性和非癌性疾病。 它可以精確地靶向腫瘤,減少對健康的附近組織和器官的損害,並減少由輻射照射引起的繼發癌症的風險。

放射腫瘤學家 –接受過放射線治療癌症培訓的醫師,將就您的治療提出建議。 放射腫瘤學家還通過放射治療一些良性疾病。

放射治療師 –放射治療師經過培訓並獲得執照,可進行放射治療,在醫生的處方和監督下進行放射治療。 他們還安排患者的日程安排,在每次放射治療期間監視患者,維護每日記錄並在放射機上進行質量保證檢查,以確保他們工作正常。

Proton Therapy Glossary of Terms


Beam Transport System – The beam transport system is a series of electromagnets that steer the beam. The protons from the cyclotron are transported to each treatment room using a vacuum line.

Benign Tumors – Benign tumors are not cancerous. They can often be removed, and, in most cases, they do not come back. Cells in benign tumors do not spread to other parts of the body.

Bragg Peak – The point at which protons (and other heavy charged particles) deposit most of their energy. When protons travel through matter, they lose energy and gradually slow down. Just before they come to rest, they deposit their peak energy.

CT Scan – Computed tomography, also known as a CT or CAT scan, is a painless, noninvasive way to see inside of the body using X-ray imaging. During a CT scan, multiple images are taken from different angles. A computer combines the images to create digital cross-sectional images, or slices, of soft tissue, organs, blood vessels and bone. The slices can often be combined to create 3-D pictures.

Chemotherapy – Chemotherapy for cancer involves the use of drugs (taken orally or intravenously) to attack cancerous cells, directly or indirectly, with the goal of killing them or slowing their growth.

Cyclotron – The cyclotron generates the proton beam using hydrogen and oxygen to create a plasma stream. Protons are extracted, accelerated to roughly 100,000 miles per second, and then sent to the beam transport system. The cyclotron weighs approximately 95 tons.

Dosimetrist – Dosimetrists have special training in measuring radiation exposure and prescribing appropriate doses of radiation. Physicists and staff dosimetrists collaborate with your physician to design a treatment plan. They also monitor the radiation treatment machines for proper operation and accuracy.

Gamma Knife – Gamma Knife radiosurgery is a type of radiation therapy used to treat malignant and benign tumors. It has been shown to be beneficial for the treatment of some noncancerous conditions, including functional disorders such as arteriovenous malformation (AVMs) and trigeminal neuralgia.

Gantry – Three of California Protons Cancer Treatment Center’s treatment rooms are equipped with a gantry, which rotates around the patient 360 degrees to allow treatment from any direction. Each gantry is three stories tall and weighs 283 tons.

Immobilization Device – A device used to correctly and comfortably position a patient during treatment so that the patient’s setup is stable.

Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT) – IMRT is an advanced form of 3-D conformal radiotherapy that allows the clinical team to specify the dose of radiation for the tumor while restricting the dose to surrounding tissues. IMRT is used most often to treat prostate, head and neck, and other tumors near critical organs and tissues that are free of cancer.

Malignant Tumors – Malignant tumors are cancerous and are made up of cells that grow out of control. Cells in these tumors can invade nearby tissues and spread to other parts of the body.

Medical Oncologist – A physician who specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of cancer. After a cancer diagnosis is made, it is the oncologist’s role to explain the cancer diagnosis and the meaning of the disease stage to the patient; discuss various treatment options; recommend the best course of treatment; deliver optimal care; and improve quality of life both through curative therapy and palliative care with pain and symptom management. The medical oncologist also prescribes and delivers systemic therapy and chemotherapy when indicated.

Metastasis – The spread of a cancer or disease from one organ or part of the body to another not directly connected with it. Sometimes cells move away from the original (primary) cancer site and spread to other organs and bones where they can continue to grow and form another tumor at that site. This is known as metastasis or secondary cancer.

MRI – Magnetic resonance imaging, also known as an MRI, is a painless imaging procedure used to help diagnose a wide variety of conditions. The MRI scanner uses a powerful magnet, radio waves and computer technology to produce pictures of organs, soft tissues, bone and most other internal body structures from all angles, without using ionizing radiation.

Passive Scattering – Traditional method for delivering proton therapy in which the shaping of the beam to conform to the tumor takes place just outside of the treatment nozzle.

Pencil Beam Scanning – The latest in proton therapy technology, pencil beam scanning allows a precise dose of proton therapy to be delivered to a tumor. The technology limits radiation exposure to surrounding tissue. The pencil beam can be used to treat solid and complex cancerous and noncancerous tumors in adult and pediatric patients.

PET Scan – Positron Emission Tomography, also called a PET scan, is an imaging technique that examines the metabolic function of cells. It can be used for diagnosing and tracking the progress of a disease or condition. During a PET scan, a radioactive substance called a tracer is given intravenously. Some types of cells – such as cancer cells – may metabolize this substance faster than the surrounding healthy cells. Using advanced imaging technology, the PET scan shows the areas of abnormal metabolism to help pinpoint where a disease is originating in the body and how it is progressing.

Photon – A tiny particle of light or electromagnetic radiation. X-rays and gamma rays are photon radiation.

Prostate-Specific Antigen (PSA) – Prostate-specific antigen (PSA) is a protein produced by prostate cells. The PSA test is done to help diagnose and follow prostate cancer in men.

Proton/Proton Radiation – A proton is a positively charged particle found in the nucleus of an atom. The protons used in proton therapy are derived from stripping a hydrogen atom of its electron. Proton radiation is a form of external-beam radiation treatment, delivered by generating a beam that penetrates the body from the outside. When protons interact with electrons in the atoms of cancer cells, they impart energy that damages the DNA of the cancer cell. This destroys specific cell functions, including the ability to divide or proliferate. A cancer cell’s ability to repair such injuries is generally inferior to that of cells in normal tissues. As a result, cancer cells die, as does the tumor.

Proton Therapy – Proton therapy is a type of radiation treatment that uses protons (subatomic particles) instead of X-rays to treat cancerous and noncancerous conditions. It can target tumors with great precision, decreasing damage to healthy nearby tissue and organs and reducing the risk of secondary cancers caused by radiation exposure.

Radiation Oncologist – A physician who is trained to treat cancer with radiation and will make recommendations regarding your treatment. Radiation oncologists also treat some benign diseases with radiation.

Radiation Therapist – Radiation therapists are trained and licensed to deliver radiation treatments, administering radiation under a physician’s prescription and supervision. They also arrange patients’ daily schedules, monitor patients throughout each radiation treatment, maintain daily records and perform quality assurance checks on the radiation machines to ensure that they are working properly.