858.283.4771
سرطان الرأس والعنق

العلاج بالبروتون لعلاج سرطان الرأس والعنق


حارب سرطان الرأس والرقبة بدقة شبيهة بالليزر

تعد تكنولوجيا مسح شعاع قلم رصاص المعدلة بشكل مكثف في كاليفورنيا بروتونز شكلًا دقيقًا للغاية من العلاج الإشعاعي للسرطان الذي يمكن أطبائنا من استهداف الأورام الموجودة في منطقة الرأس والعنق الحساسة والمعقدة بإشعاع عالي الجرعة.

تعالج تقنية المسح الشعاعي لأورام الرأس والرقبة من خلال تقديم إشعاع البروتون بدقة 2 ملليمترا. يهاجم طبقة الأورام طبقة ، يلتف حول أشكال الورم المعقدة لتقليل كمية الإشعاع المعطاة للأنسجة والأعضاء السليمة. هذا مهم في الرأس والرقبة ، لأن هذه الأورام غالبًا ما تتطلب جرعة عالية من الإشعاع ويتم وضعها بعيدًا بين الهياكل الحيوية ، مثل الدماغ والعصب البصري والغدة الدرقية والغدد اللعابية والمريء وصندوق الصوت وعظم الفك والحبل الشوكي.

العلاج بالبروتون للرأس والرقبة
تفاصيل علاج السرطان

ما نتعامل معه

  • سرطانات الرأس والعنق المتكررة (التي سبق علاجها)
  • قاعدة سرطانات الجمجمة
  • سرطان الحنجرة (صندوق صوتي)
  • سرطانات الفم والفم
  • سرطان الحنجرة
  • سرطان الغدد اللعابية
  • سرطان الجيوب الأنفية (البلعوم الأنفي)
  • سرطان البلعوم
  • سرطان البلعوم
  • سرطان اللسان
  • سرطان اللوزتين

ما الذي نوفره لك

  • تقليل الجرعة للهياكل الطبيعية مثل الدماغ ، العصب البصري ، الغدة الدرقية ، الغدد اللعابية ، المريء ، صندوق الصوت ، عظم الفك والحبل الشوكي1
  • قد يؤدي تجنيب الأنسجة الطبيعية إلى تقليل الآثار الجانبية قصيرة المدى ، ووقت تعافي أسرع ، وتقليل خطر الحاجة إلى أنبوب تغذية2
  • قد يقلل تجنيب الأنسجة الطبيعية بالبروتونات من خطر إصابة عظم الفك3
  • في بعض الحالات ، تحسن البروتونات السيطرة على المرض والبقاء4، 5، 6
  • يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي بسبب الإشعاع7

فوائد العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان الرأس والعنق

  • تتحكم تقنية المسح الضوئي بشعاع القلم الرصاص بدقة في طاقات حزمة البروتون ، وبالتالي ، موقع أقصى قدر من الإشعاع يُعرف باسم ذروة براج. هذا يسمح لنا بمعالجة أشكال الورم الأكثر تعقيدًا وتغيير الجرعة داخل ورم الرأس والعنق.
  • يسمح العلاج المتقدم بالبروتون للأطباء بتقديم جرعة عالية من الإشعاع بشكل انتقائي للعديد من الأورام السرطانية ، ويقلل الجرعة إلى الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة والأعضاء الحرجة. في بعض الحالات ، ثبت أن هذا يقدم معدلات علاج أعلى من العلاج الإشعاعي بالأشعة السينية حتى في بعض الحالات الأكثر صعوبة.
  • نظرًا لأن العلاج بالبروتون في الرأس والرقبة يمكن أن يحد بشكل أفضل من الإشعاع خارج الهدف ، فقد يتمكن الأطباء من تقليل الإشعاع على الأنسجة السليمة المسؤولة عن البصر والسمع والتذوق والقدرة على التحدث والأكل والبلع ووظائف المخ.

علاج البروتون لمختلف
أنواع سرطان الرأس والرقبة

 

تقع أورام الرأس والرقبة بجوار الهياكل الحيوية. يمكن أن يكون نمو الورم دون رادع مدمرًا. اعتمادًا على مرحلة سرطان الرأس أو الرقبة أو الحلق أو الفم أو اللسان ، قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى علاجات مشتركة للجراحة والعلاج الكيميائي والإشعاع لبعض الأورام. تتأثر خيارات العلاج أيضًا بنوع ومدى السرطان ، وصحة المريض بشكل عام وتفضيلاته الشخصية.

تبدأ سرطانات الفم عادةً في الخلايا المسطحة والرقيقة التي تبطن شفتيك وداخل فمك ، بما في ذلك الخدين وسقف وأرضية فمك. قد يقلل العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان الفم من جرعة الإشعاع إلى الأنسجة الطبيعية غير المستهدفة عند علاج أورام تجويف الفم.

يشمل سرطان الحلق أورامًا سرطانية تتطور في الحلق أو اللوزتين. تم تقليل عدد المرضى الذين يعانون من فقدان شديد للوزن أو يحتاجون إلى أنبوب تغذية بنسبة 50٪ تقريبًا في المرضى الذين يتلقون العلاج بالبروتون. وبعد ثلاثة أشهر من العلاج ، أبلغ مرضى سرطان الحلق بالبروتون أيضًا عن جفاف فم أقل بكثير.2

يتشكل هذا النوع من سرطان الفم في قاعدة اللسان أو أمامه ويتطور عادةً في الخلايا السطحية الرقيقة المسطحة. تتطلب هذه الأورام عادة جرعات عالية من الإشعاع. قد يساعد العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان اللسان في منع تلف الشفاه والغدد اللعابية وعظم الفك والغدة الدرقية والحبل الشوكي. في بعض الحالات ، قد يقلل أيضًا من خطر الإصابة بضعف القدرة على التذوق والبلع والأكل والتحدث.

تبدأ سرطانات الأنف عادة في الخلايا الحرشفية التي تبطن الأسطح الرطبة المخاطية داخل تجاويف الأنف والجيوب الأنفية. قد يستهدف العلاج بالبروتون الأورام بشكل أفضل داخل هذه الحدود الضيقة لرأسك وبنية الأنف لأن العيون والفم والدماغ والأعصاب والأوعية الدموية المهمة عادة ما تكون بالقرب من الورم. قد تقلل دقة الإشعاع المتزايدة أيضًا من خطر إعاقتك الحسية ، مثل القدرة على الشم والتذوق والبلع والتحدث. في بعض الحالات ، أدى العلاج بالبروتون إلى تحسين التحكم في الأمراض والبقاء على قيد الحياة في المرضى الذين يعانون من أورام الجيوب الأنفية شبه الأنفية.4، 5، 6

علاج المتكررة
سرطان الرأس والرقبة

غالبًا ما يكون العلاج بالبروتون هو أفضل طريقة للعلاج أورام متكررة في المناطق التي سبق علاجها بالعلاج الإشعاعي.

يمكن أن يكون علاج المناطق المشععة سابقًا أمرًا صعبًا ، خاصة في الرأس والرقبة. قد تكون الجولة الثانية من العلاج الإشعاعي بالأشعة السينية خطيرة للغاية لأن الأنسجة السليمة حول الورم المتكرر لا "تنسى" تمامًا جرعة الإشعاع السابقة. لسوء الحظ ، فإن أي جرعة إضافية يمكن أن تزيد من خطر إصابة الأنسجة الطبيعية. قد يمكّن العلاج بحزمة البروتون ، في هذا الإعداد ، الأطباء من تركيز الجرعة بشكل أفضل على الهدف وتحديدها في مكان آخر ، مما قد يسمح بإعادة العلاج بالإشعاع في المرضى المختارين.


نتائج علاج الرأس والرقبة
& التأثيرات طويلة المدى

قد يقلل العلاج بالبروتونات لسرطان الرأس والرقبة في مركز علاج السرطان بالبروتونات في كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو من مخاطر و / أو شدة الآثار الجانبية طويلة المدى مثل تلف البصر والسمع والذوق. قد يقلل إشعاع البروتون أيضًا من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي ، نظرًا لوجود إشعاع أقل يتم توصيله إلى الأنسجة السليمة السليمة. ومع ذلك ، فإن جميع علاجات سرطان الرأس والعنق لها مزايا وعيوب ، والتي تختلف باختلاف ظروف المريض الخاصة. إذا تم تشخيص إصابتك بسرطان الرأس أو الرقبة ، فتأكد من مناقشة جميع المخاطر المحتملة ، بالإضافة إلى خيارات العلاج ، مع طبيب الأورام الخاص بك.

كاسي هارفي
كان العلاج بالبروتون بمثابة "تغيير قواعد اللعبة". لا يمر يوم ولا أعتقد أننا كنا محظوظين للعيش على بعد ستة أميال من أحد أفضل مراكز البروتون في العالم. طاقم العمل مذهل الرأفة والمعرفة والمتابعة كانت لا تصدق.
والد كاسي هارفي
مريض الساركوما العضلية المخططة لدى الأطفال

دراسات بحثية تدعم العلاج بالبروتونات لسرطان الرأس والعنق

عن العلاج بالبروتون

خيارات التغطية

الأسئلة المتكررة

Head & Neck Cancers

Fight Head & Neck Cancers
with Laser-like Precision

Proton Therapy for Head & Neck Cancers

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target tumors found in the sensitive and intricate head and neck region with high-dose radiation.

Pencil beam scanning technology treats head and neck tumors by delivering proton radiation with 2-millimeter accuracy. It attacks tumors layer by layer, wrapping around complex tumor shapes to minimize the amount of radiation given to healthy tissue and organs. This is important in the head and neck, as these tumors often require a high dose of radiation and are tucked away among vital structures, such as the brain, optic nerve, thyroid, salivary glands, esophagus, voice box, jawbone and spinal cord.

Head & Neck Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Recurrent cancers (previously treated)
  • Base of skull cancers
  • Larynx cancer (voice box)
  • Oral and mouth cancers
  • Throat cancer
  • Salivary gland cancer
  • Sinus cancer (nasopharyngeal)
  • Hypopharyngeal cancer
  • Oropharyngeal cancer
  • Tongue cancer
  • Tonsil cancer

What We Do

  • Reduce dose to normal structures such as the brain, optic nerve, thyroid, salivary glands, esophagus, voice box, jawbone, and spinal cord1
  • This normal tissue sparing may lead to fewer short-term side effects, faster recovery time, and decreased risk of needing a feeding tube2
  • Normal tissue sparing with protons may reduce the risk of jawbone injury3
  • In some cases, protons improve disease control and survival4, 5, 6
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation7

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Head & Neck Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls proton beam energies and, in turn, the location of the maximum radiation delivery known as the Bragg peak. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to many cancerous tumors, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissue and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Because proton therapy can better limit radiation outside of the target, doctors may be able to reduce radiation to the healthy tissues responsible for sight, hearing, taste, ability to talk, eat and swallow and brain function.

Proton Therapy
Right for You?


Head and neck tumors are located next to vital structures; unchecked tumor growth can be devastating. Depending on the stage of head, neck, throat, mouth or tongue cancer, combined treatments of surgery, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some tumors. Treatment options also are affected by the type and extent of cancer, patient’s overall health and personal preferences.

Oral cancers typically begin in the flat, thin cells that line your lips and the inside of your mouth, including your cheeks, roof and floor of your mouth. Proton therapy may reduce the radiation dose to non-target normal tissues when treating oral cavity tumors.

Throat cancer encompasses cancerous tumors that develop in your throat or tonsils. The number of patients experiencing severe weight loss or needing a feeding tube was reduced by almost 50% in the patients receiving proton therapy. And three months after treatment, proton therapy patients also reported significantly less dry mouth.2

This type of oral cancer forms in the base or front of the tongue and usually develops in the thin, flat surface cells. These tumors typically require high doses of radiation. Proton therapy may help prevent damage to your lips, salivary glands, jawbone, thyroid gland and spinal cord. In some cases, it may also decrease your risk of developing an impaired ability to taste, swallow, eat and talk.

These cancers usually begin in the squamous cells that line the moist, mucosal surfaces inside the nose and sinus cavities. Proton therapy may better target tumors within these tight confines of your head and nasal structure because the eyes, mouth, brain and important nerves and blood vessels are usually located near the tumor. Greater radiation precision may also decrease your risk of sensory impairments, such as the ability to smell, taste, swallow and talk. In some cases, proton therapy improved disease control and survival in patients with para-nasal sinus tumors.4, 5, 6

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging, especially in the head and neck. A second round of X-ray radiation treatment could be too dangerous as the healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose. Unfortunately, any additional dose can increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy, in this setting, may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, which may allow re-treatment with radiation in select patients.

Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may reduce the risk and/or severity of long-term side effects such as damage to vision, hearing and taste. Proton radiation may also lower the risk of secondary cancers, since there is less radiation delivered to healthy normal tissues. However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages, which vary based upon the patient’s unique circumstances. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

Kasey Harvey
Proton therapy was a ‘game changer.’ Not a day goes by that I don’t think how fortunate we were to live six miles away from one of the best proton centers in the world. The entire staff is amazing. Compassionate, knowledgeable and the follow-up was incredible.
Father of Kasey Harvey
Pediatric Rhabdomyosarcoma Patient

Research Studies Supporting Proton Therapy for Head & Neck Cancer

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options