858.283.4771
頭頸癌

質子療法治療頭頸癌


激光般的精準度對抗頭頸癌

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是癌症放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠選擇性地靶向高劑量放射線,以敏感和復雜的頭頸部區域中發現的腫瘤為目標。

筆形束掃描技術通過提供2毫米精度的質子輻射來治療頭頸部腫瘤。 它逐層攻擊腫瘤,包裹在復雜的腫瘤形狀周圍,以最大程度地減少對健康組織和器官的輻射量。 這在頭部和頸部很重要,因為這些腫瘤通常需要高劑量的輻射,並藏在重要結構中,例如大腦,視神經,甲狀腺,唾液腺,食道,語音盒,顎骨和脊髓。

頭頸部質子療法
癌症治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 復發性頭頸癌(先前已治療)
  • 顱骨癌的基礎
  • 喉癌(語音信箱)
  • 口腔和口腔癌
  • 咽喉癌
  • 唾液腺癌
  • 鼻竇癌(鼻咽)
  • 下嚥癌
  • 口咽癌
  • 舌癌
  • 扁桃體癌

我們做什麼

  • 減少對正常結構(例如大腦,視神經,甲狀腺,唾液腺,食道,語音信箱,顎骨和脊髓)的劑量1
  • 這種正常的組織備用可能導致較少的短期副作用,更快的恢復時間並降低需要飼管的風險2
  • 正常組織保留質子可能會降低頜骨受傷的風險3
  • 在某些情況下,質子可改善疾病的控制和生存4,5,6
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險7

質子治療頭頸癌的好處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可精確控制質子束能量,進而控制被稱為布拉格峰的最大輻射傳輸位置。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變頭頸部腫瘤的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生可以更有選擇地向許多癌性腫瘤傳遞高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 因為頭頸部質子療法可以更好地將輻射限制在目標之外,所以醫生可能能夠減少對負責視力,聽力,味覺,說話,進食和吞嚥功能以及腦功能的健康組織的輻射。

質子治療的不同
頭頸癌的類型

 

頭和頸部腫瘤位於重要結構旁。 未經檢查的腫瘤生長可能是毀滅性的。 根據頭,頸,喉,口腔或舌頭癌的分期,某些腫瘤可能需要手術,化學療法和放射療法的聯合治療。 治療選擇還受到癌症類型和程度,患者總體健康狀況和個人喜好的影響。

口腔癌通常始於排列在嘴唇和口腔內部的扁平薄細胞,包括臉頰,上顎和下顎。 當治療口腔腫瘤時,針對口腔癌的質子療法可能會減少對非目標正常組織的輻射劑量。

喉癌包括在您的喉嚨或扁桃體中發展的癌性腫瘤。 在接受質子治療的患者中,體重嚴重減輕或需要餵食管的患者人數減少了近50%。 治療後三個月,質子治療的喉癌患者也報告口乾明顯減少。2

這種類型的口腔癌形成在舌根或舌頭,通常在薄而平坦的表面細胞中發展。 這些腫瘤通常需要高劑量的輻射。 舌癌的質子治療可能有助於防止嘴唇,唾液腺,頜骨,甲狀腺和脊髓受損。 在某些情況下,它還可以降低您的口味,吞嚥,進食和說話能力受損的風險。

鼻癌通常始於鱗狀細胞,鱗狀細胞排列在鼻子和竇腔內的潮濕粘膜表面。 質子治療可能會更好地針對您的頭部和鼻部結構的狹窄區域內的腫瘤,因為眼睛,嘴巴,大腦以及重要的神經和血管通常位於腫瘤附近。 更高的輻射精度還可以降低您的感覺障礙風險,例如嗅覺,味覺,吞嚥和說話的能力。 在某些情況下,質子治療改善了鼻旁竇腫瘤患者的疾病控制和生存率。4,5,6

復發治療
頭頸癌

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性,尤其是在頭部和頸部。 第二輪X射線放射治療可能太危險,因為複發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量。 不幸的是,任何額外劑量都可能增加正常組織損傷的風險。 在這種情況下,質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,這可以允許某些患者接受放射治療。


頭頸部治療結果
& 長期影響

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子療法可用於治療頭頸癌,可降低長期副作用(如視力,聽力和味覺受損)的風險和/或嚴重性。 質子輻射還可以降低繼發癌症的風險,因為傳遞到健康正常組織的輻射較少。 但是,所有頭頸癌治療方法都有其優缺點,這取決於患者的獨特情況。 如果您被診斷出患有頭頸癌,請務必與腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

凱西·哈維(Kasey Harvey)
質子治療是“遊戲規則改變者”。 一天過去了,我不認為我們離世界上最好的質子中心之一六英里遠是多麼幸運。 全體員工都很棒。 富有同情心,知識淵博且後續行動令人難以置信。
凱西·哈維(Kasey Harvey)的父親
小兒橫紋肌肉瘤患者

支持質子療法治療頭頸癌的研究

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Head & Neck Cancers

Fight Head & Neck Cancers
with Laser-like Precision

Proton Therapy for Head & Neck Cancers

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target tumors found in the sensitive and intricate head and neck region with high-dose radiation.

Pencil beam scanning technology treats head and neck tumors by delivering proton radiation with 2-millimeter accuracy. It attacks tumors layer by layer, wrapping around complex tumor shapes to minimize the amount of radiation given to healthy tissue and organs. This is important in the head and neck, as these tumors often require a high dose of radiation and are tucked away among vital structures, such as the brain, optic nerve, thyroid, salivary glands, esophagus, voice box, jawbone and spinal cord.

Head & Neck Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Recurrent cancers (previously treated)
  • Base of skull cancers
  • Larynx cancer (voice box)
  • Oral and mouth cancers
  • Throat cancer
  • Salivary gland cancer
  • Sinus cancer (nasopharyngeal)
  • Hypopharyngeal cancer
  • Oropharyngeal cancer
  • Tongue cancer
  • Tonsil cancer

What We Do

  • Reduce dose to normal structures such as the brain, optic nerve, thyroid, salivary glands, esophagus, voice box, jawbone, and spinal cord1
  • This normal tissue sparing may lead to fewer short-term side effects, faster recovery time, and decreased risk of needing a feeding tube2
  • Normal tissue sparing with protons may reduce the risk of jawbone injury3
  • In some cases, protons improve disease control and survival4, 5, 6
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation7

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Head & Neck Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls proton beam energies and, in turn, the location of the maximum radiation delivery known as the Bragg peak. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to many cancerous tumors, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissue and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Because proton therapy can better limit radiation outside of the target, doctors may be able to reduce radiation to the healthy tissues responsible for sight, hearing, taste, ability to talk, eat and swallow and brain function.

Proton Therapy
Right for You?


Head and neck tumors are located next to vital structures; unchecked tumor growth can be devastating. Depending on the stage of head, neck, throat, mouth or tongue cancer, combined treatments of surgery, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some tumors. Treatment options also are affected by the type and extent of cancer, patient’s overall health and personal preferences.

Oral cancers typically begin in the flat, thin cells that line your lips and the inside of your mouth, including your cheeks, roof and floor of your mouth. Proton therapy may reduce the radiation dose to non-target normal tissues when treating oral cavity tumors.

Throat cancer encompasses cancerous tumors that develop in your throat or tonsils. The number of patients experiencing severe weight loss or needing a feeding tube was reduced by almost 50% in the patients receiving proton therapy. And three months after treatment, proton therapy patients also reported significantly less dry mouth.2

This type of oral cancer forms in the base or front of the tongue and usually develops in the thin, flat surface cells. These tumors typically require high doses of radiation. Proton therapy may help prevent damage to your lips, salivary glands, jawbone, thyroid gland and spinal cord. In some cases, it may also decrease your risk of developing an impaired ability to taste, swallow, eat and talk.

These cancers usually begin in the squamous cells that line the moist, mucosal surfaces inside the nose and sinus cavities. Proton therapy may better target tumors within these tight confines of your head and nasal structure because the eyes, mouth, brain and important nerves and blood vessels are usually located near the tumor. Greater radiation precision may also decrease your risk of sensory impairments, such as the ability to smell, taste, swallow and talk. In some cases, proton therapy improved disease control and survival in patients with para-nasal sinus tumors.4, 5, 6

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging, especially in the head and neck. A second round of X-ray radiation treatment could be too dangerous as the healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose. Unfortunately, any additional dose can increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy, in this setting, may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, which may allow re-treatment with radiation in select patients.

Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may reduce the risk and/or severity of long-term side effects such as damage to vision, hearing and taste. Proton radiation may also lower the risk of secondary cancers, since there is less radiation delivered to healthy normal tissues. However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages, which vary based upon the patient’s unique circumstances. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

Kasey Harvey
Proton therapy was a ‘game changer.’ Not a day goes by that I don’t think how fortunate we were to live six miles away from one of the best proton centers in the world. The entire staff is amazing. Compassionate, knowledgeable and the follow-up was incredible.
Father of Kasey Harvey
Pediatric Rhabdomyosarcoma Patient

Research Studies Supporting Proton Therapy for Head & Neck Cancer

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options