858.283.4771
前列腺
癌症

質子療法前列腺癌治療


像激光一樣精準地對抗前列腺癌

加州質子總監, 醫學博士卡爾·羅西在過去的10,000年中,通過質子放射療法對26多名前列腺癌患者進行個人治療,從而獲得了國際認可,這一數字比世界上任何其他醫師都要多。

與較早的被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可提供無與倫比的精確度和最大程度的護理來為前列腺癌提供質子放射治療。 它使我們的醫生能夠通過高劑量輻射逐層攻擊前列腺腫瘤,並最大限度地減少未受影響區域的暴露。 這對可能面臨勃起功能障礙,睾丸激素水平降低,泌尿和直腸疾病以及由於輻射引起的胃腸道疾病的風險的前列腺癌患者而言非常重要。 輻射相關毒性的降低還增加了患者以較少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性。

前列腺的質子治療
癌症治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 早期前列腺癌
  • 局部晚期前列腺癌(III期和IV期)
  • 一些轉移癌病例
  • 復發性癌症

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護脆弱的健康組織,直腸,膀胱和腸
  • 在治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少副作用,包括降低睾丸激素水平,泌尿和直腸疾病以及胃腸道疾病
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

SpaceOAR®水凝膠–冒著危險的器官

為了最大程度地減少前列腺癌治療再治療和其他特殊情況下不必要的放射線,有害的副作用以及對直腸的潛在傷害,我們為患者提供水凝膠選擇。 加利福尼亞質子公司現在提供了這種微創程序,將水凝膠注入我們的工廠。 放置到位後,通常無法感覺到,可充當1.3厘米的墊片1 將直腸推離前列腺。 隔離物會保留三個月,然後被尿液完全吸收並自然清除。

99
程序成功率2

0
不良設備事件2

質子治療前列腺癌的好處

質子束療法在聖地亞哥的前列腺癌

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術精確地控制了質子,以將布拉格峰(它們最大的能量沉積點)直接置於前列腺腫瘤中。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向癌性前列腺細胞傳遞高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。 在一項研究中,在97名質子治療患者中,有4,000%沒有復發。 許多無癌患者早在10年前就已完成治療。3
  • 減少前列腺癌治療的副作用,對睾丸激素水平無影響。 2013年的一項研究發現,低危和中危前列腺癌患者的睾丸激素水平沒有明顯變化。4 另一項研究發現,質子療法與X射線放射相比,對直腸和膀胱的放射線照射顯著降低,這已被證明可以減少發生泌尿和腸道問題的機會。5
  • 超分割治療縮短了前列腺癌的治療時間,提高了劑量,降低了成本,並減少了對患者生命的影響。 在美國和英國的多項試驗表明,分級分割(治療4至6週)與8至9週一樣有效,並且對健康組織沒有更多毒性。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中並在幾分鐘之內完成。 前列腺癌的治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

前列腺癌分期
和治療

 

前列腺癌的分期是選擇治療方法中最重要的因素之一。 根據階段的不同,某些前列腺腫瘤可能需要手術,pro骨前列腺切除術,近距離放射療法,激素療法,化學療法和放射療法的聯合治療。 治療方案還受到前列腺癌類型,年齡,總體健康狀況和個人喜好的影響。

在第一階段,僅在前列腺中發現前列腺癌。 通常建議對I期前列腺癌進行放射治療,以降低癌症擴散的風險,尤其是對於那些具有較高Gleason評分和PSA水平的患者。

在第二階段,前列腺癌比第一階段更晚期,但尚未擴散到前列腺外。 II期分為IIA期(一半或更少的葉)和IIB期(一半或更多的葉)。 在前列腺癌的現階段,手術和放射療法都是治療選擇。 手術後仍可建議進行放射治療,以進一步降低癌症擴散或複發的風險。

III期前列腺癌已擴散到前列腺外層以外,並可能擴散到精囊。 在前列腺癌的這個階段,外科手術和放射療法以及激素療法是治療的選擇。 手術後仍可能需要放射治療,以提供額外的局部和遠距離癌症控制。

IV期前列腺癌可能已經超出精囊擴散到附近的組織或器官,例如膀胱,直腸或淋巴結。 在這一階段,激素治療或全身治療是全身治療的主要手段。 可能需要通過手術或放射療法進行局部治療,以幫助控制症狀。 質子放射治療可用於晚期或晚期前列腺癌以縮小腫瘤或控制疼痛。

治療
前列腺癌復發

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


前列腺癌治療結果
& 長期影響

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子治療前列腺癌的療法可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少長期和可能威脅生命的副作用,例如勃起功能障礙,睾丸激素水平降低,尿液和直腸問題,以及由於輻射損害直腸,腸和膀胱引起的胃腸道疾病。 由於減少了對健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,它還提供了在以後的生活中降低繼發性癌症機會的可能性。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 請務必與您的腫瘤科醫生或泌尿科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及前列腺癌的治療選擇。

我的治療絕對沒有副作用。 在整個治療過程中,我指導了男女越野團隊,沒有一天的失誤。 我與妻子喬安(JoAnn)保持了我非常重視的親密關係,並在社區中以父親和導師的身份保持活躍。
史蒂夫·斯科特
前列腺癌患者

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Prostate
Cancer

Fight Prostate Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Prostate Cancer

California Protons’ director, Carl Rossi, MD, is internationally recognized for personally treating more than 9,000 prostate cancer patients with proton radiation therapy over the last 26 years—more than any other physician in the world.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers proton radiation treatment for prostate cancer with unmatched precision and the utmost care. It enables our physicians to attack prostate tumors, layer-by-layer, with high-dose radiation and minimize exposure to unaffected areas. This is important for prostate cancer patients who may face the risk of erectile dysfunction, decreased testosterone levels, urinary and rectal problems and gastrointestinal disorders due to radiation. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Prostate Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Early stage prostate cancer
  • Locally advanced prostate cancer (Stage III and IV)
  • Some cases of metastatic cancer
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect fragile healthy tissues, your rectum, bladder and bowel
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects, including lowered testosterone levels, urinary and rectal problems, and gastrointestinal disorders
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

SpaceOAR® Hydrogel – Spacing Organs at Risk

In an effort to minimize unnecessary radiation, unwanted side effects and potential injury to the rectum during re-treatments and other special situations, we give patients the option of hydrogel. Our patients are referred to physicians who can use a minimally invasive procedure to inject the hydrogel. Once in place, it typically cannot be felt and acts as a 1.3cm spacer1 to push the rectum away from the prostate. The spacer remains in place for three months before being fully absorbed and naturally cleared in your urine.

99
Procedural success rate2

0
Adverse device events2

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Prostate Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous prostate gland cells, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations. In one study, 97 percent of 4,000 proton therapy patients had not suffered a recurrence; many of the cancer-free patients had completed treatment as long as 10 years earlier.3
  • Reduced side effects and no effect on testosterone levels. A 2013 study found no significant changes in testosterone levels in low- and intermediate-risk prostate cancer patients.4 Another study found significantly lower radiation exposure to the rectum and bladder with proton therapy than with X-ray radiation, which has been shown to reduce the chances of developing urinary and bowel problems.5
  • Shortened treatment time, higher doses, lower costs and less disruption to a patient’s life with hypofractionation treatment. Multiple trials in both the U.S. and UK have shown that hypo fractionation (4 to 6 weeks of treatment) is just as effective as 8 to 9 weeks and no more toxic to healthy tissue.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also non-invasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

The stage of prostate cancer is one of the most important factors in selecting treatment. Depending on the stage, combined treatments of surgery, radial prostatectomy, brachytherapy, hormone therapy, chemotherapy and radiation therapy may be needed for some prostate tumors. Treatment options also are affected by the type of prostate cancer, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Prostate cancer is found in the prostate gland only. Radiation therapy for stage I prostate cancer is often recommended to reduce the risk of cancer spreading, especially for those with higher Gleason scores and PSA levels.

Prostate cancer is more advanced than in stage I, but has not spread outside the prostate. Stage II is divided into stages IIA (half or less of a lobe) and IIB (half or more of a lobe). At this stage of prostate cancer, both surgery and radiation therapy are treatment options. Radiation therapy may still be recommended after surgery to further reduce the risk of cancer spreading or returning.

Prostate cancer has spread beyond the outer layer of the prostate and may have spread to the seminal vesicles. Surgery and radiation therapy with hormonal therapy are curative treatment options at this stage of prostate cancer. Radiation therapy may still be needed after surgery to provide additional local and distant cancer control.

Prostate cancer may have spread beyond the seminal vesicles to nearby tissue or organs, such as the bladder, rectum or lymph nodes. At this stage, treatment of the whole body with hormonal therapy or systemic therapy is the mainstay of treatment. Local therapy with surgery or radiation therapy may be needed to help control symptoms. Proton radiation treatment may be used for advanced or late-stage prostate cancer to shrink tumors or control pain.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as erectile dysfunction, lowered testosterone levels, urinary and rectal problems, and gastrointestinal disorders due to radiation damage to the rectum, bowel and bladder. It also offers the possibility of lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options for prostate cancer, with your oncologist or urologist.

Steve Scott
I have experienced absolutely no side effects from my treatments. I coached my men’s and women’s cross-country teams throughout my treatments, without missing a single day. I’ve maintained the intimacy I value so much with my wife, JoAnn, and remain active as a father and mentor in the community.
Steve Scott
Prostate Cancer Patient

Research Studies Supporting Proton Therapy for Prostate Cancer

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options