858.283.4771
經常性和繼發性
癌症

抵抗復發和繼發性癌症
激光般的精度


質子治療復發和繼發性癌症

我們希望它永遠不會發生,但是有時候-即使有了最好的護理和技術-癌症又回來了。 如果確實如此,請使用當今可用的更先進的放射治療方法進行反擊。 我們的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術具有無與倫比的精確度,使我們的醫生能夠選擇性地靶向通過大劑量輻射復發或擴散的癌症。

與較早的被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可為2毫米以內的複發性和繼發性癌症提供精確的放射治療,並提供最大的護理。 我們可以逐層攻擊腫瘤,並最大程度地減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 這對於以前接觸過放射線的患者至關重要,因為正常組織在不可逆轉的損害發生之前只能吸收一定量的放射線。 輻射不集中在腫瘤中,也使健康的組織和器官更接近其終生最大劑量。 通過精心地集中劑量和強度,質子治療有助於降低與輻射有關的毒性,還可以增加患者完成治療的可能性,減少中斷或延誤的時間。

復發和繼發性癌症
治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 局部或局部復發的癌症
  • 復發或長入淋巴結或周圍組織的局部復發性癌症
  • 在遠離原始腫瘤的器官或組織中發現的遠處復發性癌症(轉移性癌症)
  • 相同或不同類型的繼發性癌症(繼發性腫瘤),發生於先前接受過治療的地區

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護您的健康器官和組織
  • 在治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少治療的副作用
  • 降低因輻射導致永久性殘疾或新癌症的風險

質子療法對複發和繼發性癌症的益處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可以精確地控制質子,使其直接在腫瘤中放置布拉格峰(布拉格峰最大的能量沉積點)。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療通常是治療先前已接受常規放射治療的區域復發和繼發性腫瘤的最佳方法。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量。 質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地傳遞高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 減少對健康組織的輻射暴露極為重要,因為正常組織在您的一生中可以安全地接受最大量的輻射。 超過終生最大劑量的任何輻射都會成倍增加損壞的風險。
  • 即使已經達到最大X射線輻射劑量的患者,也可能成為質子治療的候選者,因為它帶來的傷害和對周圍健康組織和器官的損害的風險較小。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

Is
質子治療
適合你?

 

復發的癌症(也稱為繼發性癌症)的治療取決於多種因素。 其中包括:癌症的類型和階段,復發的時間和地點,年齡,整體健康狀況和個人喜好。 可能需要手術,化學療法和放射療法的聯合治療來治療一些復發和繼發性癌症。 此外,您以前的癌症治療方法和放射線照射可能會影響您當前的治療選擇。

治療結果和
長期影響

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子療法治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少由於輻射損壞周圍組織和器官而造成的長期且可能威脅生命的副作用。 由於減少了對這些健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,它也可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

承保範圍

關於質子治療

常見問題

Recurrent & Secondary
Cancer

Fight Recurrent & Secondary Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Recurrent & Secondary Cancer

We hope it never happens, but sometimes—even with the best care and technology—cancer comes back. If it does, fight back with a more advanced form of radiation treatment available today. Our intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is unmatched in precision and enables our doctors to selectively target cancer that has returned or spread with high-dose radiation.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for recurrent and secondary cancers within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is crucial for patients previously exposed to radiation because normal tissues can absorb only a certain amount of radiation before irreversible damage is done. Radiation not concentrated in the tumor also puts healthy tissue and organs closer to reaching their lifetime maximum dose. By meticulously concentrating the dose and intensity, proton therapy helps reduce radiation-related toxicity and also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Recurrent & Secondary Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Locally recurrent cancer that reappears in the same place or close to it
  • Regionally recurrent cancer that regrows or grows into lymph nodes or surrounding tissues
  • Distally recurrent cancer (metastatic cancer) that is discovered in organs or tissues far from the original tumor
  • Secondary cancer (secondary tumor) that is the same or different type of cancer and occurs in areas that were previously treated

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your healthy organs and tissues
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment
  • Lower the risk of permanent disabilities or new cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Recurrent & Secondary Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent and secondary tumors in areas that have previously been treated with conventional radiation therapy. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose. Proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Reduced radiation exposure to healthy tissue is extremely important as there is a maximum amount of radiation a normal tissue can safely receive during your lifetime. Any radiation beyond the lifetime maximum dose will exponentially increase the risk of damage.
  • Even patients who have already reached their maximum dose of X-ray radiation may be a candidate for proton therapy as it poses less risk of injury and damage to surrounding healthy tissues and organs.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also non-invasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Treatments for cancer that has returned, also called a secondary cancer, depend on several factors. These include: the type and stage of cancer, when and where it recurs, age, overall health and personal preferences. Combined treatments of surgery, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed to treat some recurrent and secondary cancers. In addition, your previous cancer treatments and radiation exposure may affect your current treatment options.

Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects due to radiation damage to surrounding tissues and organs. It may also lower additional chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to these healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

Coverage Options

About Proton Therapy