858.283.4771
肉瘤

肉瘤的質子治療


以類似激光的精準度對抗肉瘤

加利福尼亞質子的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是肉瘤放射治療的一種高精度形式 這樣,我們的醫生就可以通過高劑量放射線選擇性地靶向結締軟組織或骨骼中出現的肉瘤腫瘤。

與較早的被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可為2毫米以內的肉瘤提供精確的放射治療,並提供最大的照顧。 我們可以逐層攻擊腫瘤,並最大程度地減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 這對於位於關鍵和敏感器官附近的肉瘤很重要,在肉瘤中不必要的輻射可能導致副作用增加和繼發癌症的風險。 輻射相關毒性的降低還增加了患者以較少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性。

肉瘤輻射
治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 骨肉瘤(骨肉瘤)
  • 軟骨肉瘤
  • 脊索瘤
  • 橫紋肌肉瘤
  • 尤文氏肉瘤
  • 骨骼,肌肉,肌腱,軟骨,神經,脂肪和血管中發現的其他肉瘤

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護您的心臟,肺,脊柱,生殖器官和消化系統
  • 在治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少治療的副作用,包括噁心,嘔吐和疲勞
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

質子放射治療肉瘤的好處

瓦里安質子治療激光治療肉瘤

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可以精確地控制質子,使其直接在腫瘤中放置布拉格峰(布拉格峰最大的能量沉積點)。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向癌症肉瘤細胞傳遞高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 由於肉瘤可位於關鍵和敏感器官附近,因此用放射線治療這些腫瘤可能具有挑戰性。 我們的鉛筆束掃描技術可提供更高的精確度和控制輻射,因此大大減少了對附近器官和組織(如心臟,肺,脊柱,生殖器官和消化系統)的照射。
  • 根據國家綜合癌症網絡(NCCN)的2009年肉瘤指南,質子療法在治療肉瘤方面可能比傳統放射技術更具治療優勢。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

Is
肉瘤的質子治療
適合您或您的孩子嗎?

 

根據肉瘤的階段,某些肉瘤可能需要手術,化學療法和放射療法的聯合治療。 肉瘤的類型,身體位置,年齡,總體健康狀況和個人喜好也會影響治療選擇。

治療
復發性肉瘤癌

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法使醫生能夠更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


肉瘤質子療法的治療效果和長期效果

聖地亞哥加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的肉瘤質子療法治療可能會產生與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少長期和可能威脅生命的副作用,例如對心臟,肺,脊柱,生殖的輻射損害器官和消化系統。 由於減少了對健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,它還提供了在以後的生活中罹患繼發性癌症的機會更低的可能性。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Sarcoma

Fight Sarcoma
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Sarcoma

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target sarcoma tumors that arise in your connective soft tissues or bones with high-dose radiation.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for sarcoma within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for sarcomas located close to critical and sensitive organs in which unnecessary radiation could lead to increased side effects and risk of secondary cancer. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Sarcoma
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Bone sarcoma (osteosarcoma)
  • Chondrosarcoma
  • Chordoma
  • Rhabdomyosarcoma
  • Ewing sarcoma
  • Other sarcomas found in your bones, muscles, tendons, cartilage, nerves, fat and blood vessels

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your heart, lungs, spine, reproductive organs and digestive system
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including nausea, vomiting and fatigue
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Sarcoma

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous sarcoma cells, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Because sarcomas can be located close to critical and sensitive organs, treating these tumors with radiation can be challenging. Our pencil beam scanning technology delivers radiation with greater precision and control so exposure to nearby organs and tissues such as your heart, lungs, spine, reproductive organs and digestive system is greatly reduced.
  • Proton therapy may offer a therapeutic advantage over traditional radiation techniques in the treatment of sarcoma, according to the 2009 sarcoma guidelines from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN).
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Depending on the stage of sarcoma, combined treatments of surgery, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some sarcoma tumors. Treatment options are also affected by the type of sarcoma, location in the body, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy enables doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Proton Therapy Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as radiation damage to the heart, lungs, spine, reproductive organs and digestive system. It also offers the possibility of lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options