858.283.4771
الأسئلة الشائعة حول العلاج بالبروتون

إجابات على أسئلة العلاج بالبروتون


نحن نتفهم أنه عندما يتم تشخيص إصابتك بالسرطان ، فإنك تحتاج إلى اتخاذ العديد من القرارات المهمة وقد يكون لديك عدد من الأسئلة. اعثر على إجاباتك أدناه أو اتصل بنا على 858.299.5984 للتحدث مباشرة إلى أحد أعضاء فريقنا.

لماذا يجب أن أفكر في علاج البروتون على الإشعاع القياسي؟

العلاج بالبروتون هو شكل دقيق للغاية من العلاج الإشعاعي ينتج عنه تعرض أقل للإشعاع للأنسجة السليمة الطبيعية في جسم المريض. يمكن للمرضى التعافي بسرعة أكبر والإبلاغ عن آثار جانبية أقل ، إلى جانب تقليل خطر الإصابة بسرطانات ثانوية مقارنة بالإشعاع القياسي بالأشعة السينية. على سبيل المثال ، يبلغ الرجال المصابون بسرطان البروستاتا عن عدد أقل من مشاكل الأمعاء والمثانة مع العلاج بالبروتون.

ما هو العلاج بالبروتون PENCIL-BEAM؟

كانت California Protons أول مركز بروتون في البلاد يقدم تقنية شعاع قلم الرصاص بالبروتون في جميع غرف العلاج بالبروتون لدينا. أكثر طرق العلاج بالبروتونات تقدمًا هي العلاج بالبروتون بشعاع قلم رصاص. يتم توجيه حزمة البروتونات هذه إلى منطقة في حدود 2 ملليمتر من الورم باستخدام مغناطيس قوي. يمكن أن تستهدف الجرعة العالية من الإشعاع الشكل والحجم الفريد للورم ويمكن توجيهها إلى الأورام القريبة جدًا من الهياكل الطبيعية التي نريد تجنب إتلافها. يحمي الهامش الضيق الأنسجة السليمة والأعضاء المحيطة من الإشعاع. على عكس العلاج بالبروتونات المتناثر السلبي الأقدم ، تعمل تقنية المسح الضوئي بالحزمة على تعزيز قدرات العلاج الإشعاعي بالبروتون. تتيح تقنية شعاع قلم الرصاص الممسوحة ضوئيًا بشكل فعال للفرد تقديم العلاج بالبروتون المعدل الكثافة (IMPT) - ضبط نطاق وشدة شعاع البروتون لاكتساح حزمة البروتون الضيقة عبر الورم بضربات دقيقة ، وزيادة الكثافة وطبقة الجرعة عن طريق طبقة داخل الورم.

ما هي السرطانات التي يعالجها علاج البروتون؟

يمكن استخدام العلاج بالبروتون لعلاج نفس السرطانات والأورام التي يعالجها إشعاع الأشعة السينية القياسي. تمامًا كما هو الحال مع الإشعاع القياسي ، هناك سرطانات لا يمكن علاجها بسهولة بالبروتونات ، مثل سرطانات الدم. هناك أيضًا سرطانات لا يتم فيها العلاج بالبروتونات اعتمادًا على ظروف المريض الفردية ، مثل مرحلة السرطان أو تشخيصه. غالبًا ما يرى فريق الأطباء لدينا المرضى لتقديم آراء ثانية حول ما إذا كانوا مرشحين للعلاج بالبروتونات لأنه من الأهمية بمكان تقييم كل حالة على حدة لتحديد ما إذا كان العلاج بالبروتونات سيكون خيارًا جيدًا للعلاج. إحدى المناطق المحددة التي نرى فيها العديد من المرضى هي السرطانات التي عادت في نفس المنطقة بعد العلاج الإشعاعي السابق. مع دقة العلاج بالبروتون ، غالبًا ما نكون قادرين على تقديم دورة ثانية من الإشعاع التي لا يمكن القيام بها باستخدام العلاج الإشعاعي القياسي بالأشعة السينية. قم بزيارة العلاج بالبروتون الشروط المعالجة الصفحة لمعرفة المزيد.

من هو المرشح للعلاج بالبروتون

المرشحون الجيدون للعلاج بالبروتون هم المرضى المصابون بأورام صلبة بالقرب من الأعضاء الحساسة ، مثل سرطان الدماغ والبروستاتا والثدي والرئة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن المرضى الذين يعانون من السرطانات المتكررة وأمراض الأطفال والعديد من السرطانات الأخرى كلها مرشحة مناسبة. يمكنك عرض جميع الشروط التي تعالجها بروتونات كاليفورنيا هنا.

كم عدد مرضى السرطان الذين تم علاجهم بالبروتون؟

تم علاج حوالي 200,000 مريض بالسرطان حول العالم بالعلاج بالبروتون. كمركز إقليمي ، تعمل California Protons مع مرضى من جميع أنحاء العالم. محليًا ، نحن منتسبون إلى شبكة UC San Diego Health Cancer Network ومستشفى Rady Children's Hospital. عالج مركزنا أكثر من 3,500 مريض منذ افتتاحه في عام 2015.

ما هي مدة الاستشارة الطبية للعلاج بالبروتون؟

يمكن أن يستغرق إجمالي وقت الموعد عدة ساعات ، بما في ذلك الوقت المطلوب في الموقع لتحديث سجلاتك الطبية وغيرها من المعلومات والوقت مع طبيب الأورام الإشعاعي لمناقشة التشاور.

ما الذي أحتاج إلى إحضاره إلى استشاري الطبي؟

يرجى إحضار الأوراق الكاملة التي تم إرسالها إليك ، بالإضافة إلى بطاقة (بطاقات) التأمين ، والأقراص المدمجة للتصوير وأية معلومات أخرى مطلوبة قبل هذا الموعد. سوف نتصل بك مع تذكير في اليوم السابق لموعد الاستشارة الخاصة بك. 

ما هي شريحة CT؟

اختصار لـ "CT Simulation" ، هذا موعد يتم فيه وضعك على نسخة طبق الأصل من جدول العلاج في الموضع الدقيق المطلوب للورم وموقع الورم. إذا لزم الأمر لخطة العلاج الخاصة بك ، يتم إنشاء جهاز تثبيت مخصص مثل القناع أو مسند الرأس أو جهاز آخر.

كم من الوقت يستغرق CT-SIM؟

بشكل عام ، سيستمر هذا الموعد لمدة ساعة واحدة. قد يتطلب الأمر ما يصل إلى ثلاث ساعات إذا كانت هناك حاجة إلى صور إضافية. 

ما هي شريحة V؟

اختصار لـ "محاكاة التحقق" ، هذا عندما يتم التحقق من العلاج والإعداد قبل تقديم العلاج الأول (شعاع على) لضمان دقة ودقة جميع الحسابات والقياسات وتموضع المريض.

كم من الوقت يستغرق V-SIM؟

حوالي 30 دقيقة.

ما هي المدة التي يستغرقها إنشاء خطة علاج بروتون مخصصة؟

متوسط ​​الوقت لمعظم المرضى هو من 10 إلى 14 يومًا بمجرد الحصول على جميع الصور والسجلات الطبية اللازمة.

كم عدد العلاجات التي أحتاجها للعلاج بالبروتون؟

يعتمد عدد الجلسات الفردية على نوع السرطان وموقعك ، وكذلك ما إذا كان العلاج متزامنًا مع العلاجات الأخرى مثل العلاج الهرموني أو العلاج الكيميائي. يرجى التأكد من مناقشة أي مخاوف قد تكون لديكم بشأن الرحلات المحجوزة مسبقًا أو الالتزامات الأخرى المحددة للتاريخ مع فريق الرعاية الخاص بك.

ما هي مدة جلسة العلاج بالبروتون؟

تستغرق جلسة العلاج المتوسطة 30 دقيقة ، ويتم استخدام معظم الوقت لتغيير الملابس ويتم إعدادها ووضعها على طاولة العلاج.

لماذا أحتاج إلى شارة لتسجيل الوصول للعلاج؟

يقوم النظام بتنبيه فريق الرعاية عند وصولك.

هل يسمح باصطحاب الحيوانات الأليفة؟

يُسمح فقط لحيوانات الخدمة المدربة خصيصًا لمساعدة شخص معاق. 

ما هو OTV؟

"زيارة العلاج" هو اجتماع أسبوعي مع طبيب الأورام الإشعاعي الخاص بك أثناء دورة العلاج بالبروتون لمتابعة التقدم ومعالجة أي أسئلة أو مخاوف قد تكون لديك. قد يقوم طبيب الأورام بالإشعاع بتعديل خطة العلاج الخاصة بك بناءً على كيفية استجابة السرطان للعلاج. 

ما هو رقم الهاتف الذي يجب علي الاتصال بمعرفته إذا قبل المركز خطة التأمين الصحي الخاصة بي؟

يمكنك الوصول إلينا في 858.299.5984 (من الاثنين إلى الجمعة ، من الساعة 8 صباحًا حتى 5 مساءً بتوقيت المحيط الهادئ). 

ماذا يحدث بمجرد اكتمال علاج البروتون الخاص بي؟

ستزودك ممرضة علاج الأورام بالإشعاع بأوراق الخروج الطبي الخاصة بك وتعليمات الرعاية اللاحقة. تقام مراسم قرع الجرس مع فريق رعايتك للاحتفال باستكمال العلاج بالبروتونات.

كيف أطلب سجلاتي الطبية؟

يرجى الاتصال بالمركز على 858.299.5984 (من الاثنين إلى الجمعة ، من الساعة 8 صباحًا حتى 5 مساءً بتوقيت المحيط الهادئ).

متى يكون موعد المتابعة الخاص بي بعد إتمام العلاج؟

عادة ما تتم مناقشة مواعيد المتابعة أثناء عملية الخروج من المستشفى.

هل توجد طرق أخرى للمشاركة في المركز أثناء العلاج أو بعده؟

يمكن للمرضى وأفراد الأسرة وغيرهم من المهتمين بالعلاج بالبروتون البقاء على اتصال بمركز علاج سرطان البروتون في كاليفورنيا عن طريق الانضمام إلى عضوية كاليفورنيا بروتونز. يتمتع أعضاؤنا بالبقاء على اتصال مع الأعضاء الآخرين ويستفيد المرضى من مشاركة تجاربهم والإجابة على الأسئلة وتقديم الدعم العاطفي لبعضهم البعض. يمكنك أيضًا التطوع لبرنامج California Protons Champion Program للمساعدة في دعم المرضى الجدد والحاليين ، أو حضور حدث أو مجموعة دعم. يخطط المرضى الحاليون والسابقون للأنشطة الاجتماعية بشكل منتظم وينشرون التفاصيل في ردهة مركزنا. يمكنك أيضًا البقاء على اتصال مع المرضى والعاملين من خلال صفحتنا على Facebook على: facebook.com/CaliforniaProtons.

 

هل العلاج بالبروتون مناسب لك؟ ناقش خياراتك.

858.283.4771
Proton Therapy Treatment FAQs

Answers to Your Proton Therapy Treatment Questions


We understand that when you receive a diagnosis of cancer, you need to make many important decisions and may have a number of questions. Find your answers below or call us at 858.299.5984 to speak directly to one of our team members.

WHY SHOULD I CONSIDER PROTON THERAPY OVER STANDARD RADIATION?

Proton therapy is a very precise form of radiation therapy that results in less radiation exposure to normal healthy tissue in a patient’s body. Patients can recover more quickly and report fewer side effects, along with minimizing the risk of developing secondary cancers as compared to standard x-ray radiation. For example, men with prostate cancer treatment report fewer incidences of bowel and bladder issues with proton therapy.

WHAT IS PENCIL-BEAM PROTON THERAPY?

California Protons was the first proton center in the nation to offer pencil beam proton technology in all of our proton treatment rooms. The most advanced delivery method of proton therapy is actively scanned pencil-beam proton therapy. This beam of protons is directed to an area within 2 millimeters of a tumor using powerful magnets. The high dose of radiation can be targeted to the unique shape and size of the tumor and can be directed to tumors very close to normal structures that we want to avoid damaging. The tight margin protects healthy tissues and the surrounding organs from radiation. Unlike the older passively scattered proton therapy treatment, pencil beam scanning technology further enhances the capabilities of proton beam therapy. This actively scanned pencil-beam technology also allows one to deliver Intensity Modulated Proton Therapy (IMPT) – fine-tuning the range and intensity of the proton beam to sweep this narrow proton beam across the tumor in fine strokes, increasing intensity and dose layer by layer inside the tumor.

WHAT CANCERS DOES PROTON THERAPY TREAT?

Proton therapy can be used to treat the same cancers and tumors that standard x-ray radiation treats. Just as with standard radiation, however, there are cancers that cannot be easily treated with protons, such as blood cancers. There are also cancers in which proton therapy is not appropriated depending on an individual patient’s circumstances, such as the stage or prognosis of the cancer. Our team of physicians often see patients to provide second opinions on whether they would be a candidate for proton therapy as it is critical to evaluate each case individually to determine if proton therapy would be a good treatment choice. One particular area where we see many patients is for cancers that have returned in the same area after previous radiation treatment. With the precision of proton therapy, we are often able to deliver a second course of radiation that otherwise could not be done with standard x-ray radiation therapy. Visit our proton therapy Conditions Treated page to learn more.

HOW MANY CANCER PATIENTS ARE TREATED WITH PROTON THERAPY?

Worldwide about 200,000 cancer patients have been treated with proton therapy. As a regional center, California Protons works with patients from all over the world. Locally, we are affiliated with UC San Diego Health Cancer Network and Rady Children’s Hospital. Our center has treated over 3,500 patients since it opened in 2015.

HOW LONG IS A PROTON THERAPY MEDICAL CONSULT?

Total appointment time can take several hours, including time required on-site to update your medical records and other information and time with a radiation oncologist for the consultation discussion.

WHAT DO I NEED TO BRING TO MY MEDICAL CONSULT?

Please bring completed paperwork that was sent to you, as well as insurance card(s), imaging CD(s) and any other information requested ahead of this appointment. We will call you with a reminder the day before your consultation appointment. 

WHAT IS A CT-SIM?

Short for “CT Simulation,” this is an appointment during which you are placed on a treatment table replica in the exact position needed for your specific tumor and tumor location. If needed for your treatment plan, a custom immobilization device such as a mask, headrest or other device is created.

HOW LONG DOES A CT-SIM TAKE?

In general, this appointment will last for one hour. It can require up to three hours if additional images are needed. 

WHAT IS A V-SIM?

Short for “Verification Simulation,” this is when your treatment and setup are verified before the delivery of the first treatment (beam on) to ensure accuracy and precision of all calculations, measurements and patient positioning.

HOW LONG DOES A V-SIM TAKE?

Approximately 30 minutes.

HOW LONG DOES CREATION OF A CUSTOMIZED PROTON THERAPY TREATMENT PLAN TAKE?

The average time for most patients is from 10 to 14 days once all necessary images and medical records are obtained.

HOW MANY TREATMENTS DO I NEED FOR PROTON THERAPY?

The number of individual sessions depends on your type of cancer and location, as well as if treatment is concurrent with other treatments such as hormone therapy or chemotherapy. Please be sure to discuss any concerns you may have about pre-booked flights or other date-specific commitments with your care team.

HOW LONG IS A PROTON THERAPY TREATMENT SESSION?

The average treatment session lasts 30 minutes, with the majority of time used for changing clothes and being prepped and positioned on the treatment table.

WHY DO I NEED A BADGE TO CHECK-IN FOR TREATMENT?

The system alerts the care team of your arrival.

ARE PETS ALLOWED?

Only service animals specially trained to aid a person with a disability are allowed. 

WHAT IS AN OTV?

An “On Treatment Visit” is a weekly meeting with your radiation oncologist during your course of proton therapy treatment to follow progress and address any questions or concerns you may have. Your radiation oncologist may modify your treatment plan based on how your cancer is responding to treatment. 

WHAT PHONE NUMBER DO I CALL TO LEARN IF THE CENTER ACCEPTS MY HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN?

You can reach us at 858.299.5984 (Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time). 

WHAT HAPPENS ONCE MY PROTON THERAPY TREATMENT IS COMPLETED?

Your radiation oncology nurse will provide you with your medical discharge papers and after-care instructions. A bell-ringing ceremony with your care team is traditionally held to celebrate your completion of proton therapy treatment.

HOW DO I REQUEST MY MEDICAL RECORDS?

Please call the center at 858.299.5984 (Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time).

WHEN IS MY FOLLOW-UP APPOINTMENT AFTER COMPLETING TREATMENT?

Follow-up appointments are typically discussed during your discharge process.

ARE THERE OTHER WAYS TO BE INVOLVED IN THE CENTER DURING OR AFTER TREATMENT?

Patients, family members and others interested in proton therapy can stay connected to the California Protons Cancer Therapy Center by becoming a member of California Protons Connect. Our members enjoy keeping in touch with other members and patients benefit from sharing their experiences, answering questions and providing emotional support to one another. You can also volunteer for our California Protons Champion Program to help support new and current patients, or attend an event or support group. Current and former patients plan social activities on a regular basis and post details in our center’s lobby. You can also stay in touch with patients and staff through our Facebook page at: facebook.com/CaliforniaProtons.

 

Is proton therapy right for you? Discuss your options.