858.283.4771
質子療法治療常見問題解答

質子療法治療問題的答案


我們了解,當您診斷出癌症時,您需要做出許多重要的決定,並且可能會有很多問題。 在下面找到您的答案或致電給我們 858.299.5984 直接與我們的團隊成員之一交談。

為什麼我應該考慮質子治療而不是標準輻射?

質子治療是放射治療的一種非常精確的形式,可減少對患者體內正常健康組織的放射線照射。 與標準的X射線輻射相比,患者可以更快地康復,並報告較少的副作用,同時將發生繼發性癌症的風險降至最低。 例如,接受前列腺癌治療的男性報告說,使用質子治療的腸道和膀胱問題發生率較低。

什麼是筆束質子治療?

加州質子是美國第一個在所有質子治療室中提供筆形束質子技術的質子中心。 質子治療最先進的遞送方法是主動掃描筆形束質子治療。 借助強大的磁體,該質子束被定向到腫瘤2毫米以內的區域。 高劑量的輻射可以針對腫瘤的獨特形狀和大小,並且可以針對非常接近我們希望避免損壞的正常結構的腫瘤。 緊密的邊緣可保護健康組織和周圍器官免受輻射。 與較早的被動散射質子療法不同,筆形束掃描技術進一步增強了質子束療法的功能。 這種主動掃描的筆束技術還允許人們進行強度調製的質子治療(IMPT)-精細調整質子束的範圍和強度,以在狹窄的行程中將窄的質子束掃過整個腫瘤,從而增加強度和劑量層腫瘤內層。

質子治療可以治療什麼癌症?

質子療法可用於治療與標準X射線輻射治療相同的癌症和腫瘤。 就像標準放射一樣,有些癌症不能輕易用質子治療,例如血液癌。 在某些癌症中,根據患者的情況(例如癌症的分期或預後),不適合進行質子治療。 我們的醫師團隊經常會看到患者就他們是否會參加質子治療提供第二種意見,因為至關重要的是要分別評估每個病例以確定質子治療是否是一個好的治療選擇。 我們看到許多患者的一個特定區域是在先前的放射治療後在相同區域復發的癌症。 借助質子治療的精確性,我們通常能夠提供第二道放射線,而這是標準X射線放射療法無法做到的。 參觀我們的質子療法 治療條件 頁面了解更多。

誰是質子治療的候選人

在敏感器官附近有實體瘤的患者,例如腦癌,前列腺癌,乳腺癌和肺癌,尤其適合作為質子治療的候選人。 此外,患有復發性,小兒和許多其他類型癌症的患者都是合適的候選人。 您可以查看加利福尼亞質子對待的所有條件 這裡。

質子治療可以治療多少位癌症患者?

在全世界範圍內,約有200,000萬癌症患者接受了質子治療。 作為區域中心,加利福尼亞質子與來自世界各地的患者一起工作。 在本地,我們隸屬於UC聖地亞哥健康癌症網絡和Rady兒童醫院。 自3,500年開業以來,我們的中心已為2015多名患者提供了治療。

質子治療的醫療諮詢有多長時間?

預約總時間可能要花費幾個小時,包括現場更新您的病歷和其他信息所需的時間,以及與放射腫瘤學家進行諮詢討論的時間。

我需要帶給我的醫療諮詢服務嗎?

請攜帶已發送給您的完整文件,以及保險卡,影像CD和在此預約之前要求的任何其他信息。 我們會在您預約診治的前一天給您打電話提醒。 

什麼是CT-SIM?

“ CT模擬”的縮寫,這是一項約會,在此期間,您將以特定腫瘤和腫瘤位置所需的確切位置放在治療台複製品上。 如果您的治療計劃需要,則會創建一個定制的固定裝置,例如面罩,頭枕或其他裝置。

CT-SIM卡需要多長時間?

通常,此約會將持續一小時。 如果需要其他圖像,最多可能需要三個小時。 

什麼是V-SIM?

“ Verification Simulation”(驗證模擬)的縮寫,是指在您進行第一個治療(光束照射)之前對您的治療和設置進行驗證以確保所有計算,測量和患者定位的準確性和準確性。

V-SIM卡需要多長時間?

大約30分鐘。

定制質子治療計劃的製定需要多長時間?

一旦獲得所有必要的圖像和醫療記錄,大多數患者的平均時間為10到14天。

我需要進行質子治療多少次?

單獨治療的次數取決於您的癌症類型和位置,以及治療是否與其他治療(例如激素療法或化學療法)同時進行。 請確保與您的護理團隊討論您對預定航班或其他特定日期承諾的任何擔憂。

質子治療會議有多長時間?

平均治療時間為30分鐘,大部分時間用於換衣服,準備和放置在治療台上。

為什麼需要辦理登機手續以進行治療?

系統會通知護理團隊您的到來。

允許寵物嗎?

只允許經過特殊訓練以幫助殘疾人的服務性動物。 

什麼是OTV?

“治療訪問”是在質子治療過程中每週與放射腫瘤學家會面,以跟踪進展情況並解決您可能遇到的任何問題或疑慮。 您的放射腫瘤科醫生可能會根據您的癌症對治療的反應來修改您的治療計劃。 

如果中心接受我的健康保險計劃,我可以打電話給哪個電話號碼?

您可以到達我們 858.299.5984 (星期一至星期五,太平洋時間上午8點至下午5點)。 

完成我的質子治療後會怎樣?

您的放射腫瘤學護士將為您提供醫療出院文件和後期護理說明。 傳統上會與您的護理團隊一起舉行鐘聲慶典,以慶祝您完成質子治療。

我如何索取醫療記錄?

請致電中心 858.299.5984 (星期一至星期五,太平洋時間上午8點至下午5點)。

完成治療後,我的後續隨訪何時?

出院過程中通常會討論跟進約會。

在治療過程中或之後,還有其他方法可以介入中心嗎?

病人,家屬和其他對質子治療感興趣的人可以成為“加利福尼亞質子連接”的成員,從而保持與加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的聯繫。 我們的成員喜歡與其他成員保持聯繫,而患者可以分享經驗,回答問題並相互提供情感支持,從而從中受益。 您也可以自願參加我們的“加利福尼亞質子冠軍計劃”,以幫助支持新患者和現有患者,或參加活動或支持小組。 當前和以前的患者會定期計劃社交活動,並在我們中心的大廳中發布詳細信息。 您還可以通過我們的Facebook頁面與患者和醫務人員保持聯繫: facebook.com/CaliforniaProtons.

 

質子療法適合您嗎? 討論您的選擇。

858.283.4771
Proton Therapy Treatment FAQs

Answers to Your Proton Therapy Treatment Questions


We understand that when you receive a diagnosis of cancer, you need to make many important decisions and may have a number of questions. Find your answers below or call us at 858.299.5984 to speak directly to one of our team members.

WHY SHOULD I CONSIDER PROTON THERAPY OVER STANDARD RADIATION?

Proton therapy is a very precise form of radiation therapy that results in less radiation exposure to normal healthy tissue in a patient’s body. Patients can recover more quickly and report fewer side effects, along with minimizing the risk of developing secondary cancers as compared to standard x-ray radiation. For example, men with prostate cancer treatment report fewer incidences of bowel and bladder issues with proton therapy.

WHAT IS PENCIL-BEAM PROTON THERAPY?

California Protons was the first proton center in the nation to offer pencil beam proton technology in all of our proton treatment rooms. The most advanced delivery method of proton therapy is actively scanned pencil-beam proton therapy. This beam of protons is directed to an area within 2 millimeters of a tumor using powerful magnets. The high dose of radiation can be targeted to the unique shape and size of the tumor and can be directed to tumors very close to normal structures that we want to avoid damaging. The tight margin protects healthy tissues and the surrounding organs from radiation. Unlike the older passively scattered proton therapy treatment, pencil beam scanning technology further enhances the capabilities of proton beam therapy. This actively scanned pencil-beam technology also allows one to deliver Intensity Modulated Proton Therapy (IMPT) – fine-tuning the range and intensity of the proton beam to sweep this narrow proton beam across the tumor in fine strokes, increasing intensity and dose layer by layer inside the tumor.

WHAT CANCERS DOES PROTON THERAPY TREAT?

Proton therapy can be used to treat the same cancers and tumors that standard x-ray radiation treats. Just as with standard radiation, however, there are cancers that cannot be easily treated with protons, such as blood cancers. There are also cancers in which proton therapy is not appropriated depending on an individual patient’s circumstances, such as the stage or prognosis of the cancer. Our team of physicians often see patients to provide second opinions on whether they would be a candidate for proton therapy as it is critical to evaluate each case individually to determine if proton therapy would be a good treatment choice. One particular area where we see many patients is for cancers that have returned in the same area after previous radiation treatment. With the precision of proton therapy, we are often able to deliver a second course of radiation that otherwise could not be done with standard x-ray radiation therapy. Visit our proton therapy Conditions Treated page to learn more.

HOW MANY CANCER PATIENTS ARE TREATED WITH PROTON THERAPY?

Worldwide about 200,000 cancer patients have been treated with proton therapy. As a regional center, California Protons works with patients from all over the world. Locally, we are affiliated with UC San Diego Health Cancer Network and Rady Children’s Hospital. Our center has treated over 3,500 patients since it opened in 2015.

HOW LONG IS A PROTON THERAPY MEDICAL CONSULT?

Total appointment time can take several hours, including time required on-site to update your medical records and other information and time with a radiation oncologist for the consultation discussion.

WHAT DO I NEED TO BRING TO MY MEDICAL CONSULT?

Please bring completed paperwork that was sent to you, as well as insurance card(s), imaging CD(s) and any other information requested ahead of this appointment. We will call you with a reminder the day before your consultation appointment. 

WHAT IS A CT-SIM?

Short for “CT Simulation,” this is an appointment during which you are placed on a treatment table replica in the exact position needed for your specific tumor and tumor location. If needed for your treatment plan, a custom immobilization device such as a mask, headrest or other device is created.

HOW LONG DOES A CT-SIM TAKE?

In general, this appointment will last for one hour. It can require up to three hours if additional images are needed. 

WHAT IS A V-SIM?

Short for “Verification Simulation,” this is when your treatment and setup are verified before the delivery of the first treatment (beam on) to ensure accuracy and precision of all calculations, measurements and patient positioning.

HOW LONG DOES A V-SIM TAKE?

Approximately 30 minutes.

HOW LONG DOES CREATION OF A CUSTOMIZED PROTON THERAPY TREATMENT PLAN TAKE?

The average time for most patients is from 10 to 14 days once all necessary images and medical records are obtained.

HOW MANY TREATMENTS DO I NEED FOR PROTON THERAPY?

The number of individual sessions depends on your type of cancer and location, as well as if treatment is concurrent with other treatments such as hormone therapy or chemotherapy. Please be sure to discuss any concerns you may have about pre-booked flights or other date-specific commitments with your care team.

HOW LONG IS A PROTON THERAPY TREATMENT SESSION?

The average treatment session lasts 30 minutes, with the majority of time used for changing clothes and being prepped and positioned on the treatment table.

WHY DO I NEED A BADGE TO CHECK-IN FOR TREATMENT?

The system alerts the care team of your arrival.

ARE PETS ALLOWED?

Only service animals specially trained to aid a person with a disability are allowed. 

WHAT IS AN OTV?

An “On Treatment Visit” is a weekly meeting with your radiation oncologist during your course of proton therapy treatment to follow progress and address any questions or concerns you may have. Your radiation oncologist may modify your treatment plan based on how your cancer is responding to treatment. 

WHAT PHONE NUMBER DO I CALL TO LEARN IF THE CENTER ACCEPTS MY HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN?

You can reach us at 858.299.5984 (Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time). 

WHAT HAPPENS ONCE MY PROTON THERAPY TREATMENT IS COMPLETED?

Your radiation oncology nurse will provide you with your medical discharge papers and after-care instructions. A bell-ringing ceremony with your care team is traditionally held to celebrate your completion of proton therapy treatment.

HOW DO I REQUEST MY MEDICAL RECORDS?

Please call the center at 858.299.5984 (Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time).

WHEN IS MY FOLLOW-UP APPOINTMENT AFTER COMPLETING TREATMENT?

Follow-up appointments are typically discussed during your discharge process.

ARE THERE OTHER WAYS TO BE INVOLVED IN THE CENTER DURING OR AFTER TREATMENT?

Patients, family members and others interested in proton therapy can stay connected to the California Protons Cancer Therapy Center by becoming a member of California Protons Connect. Our members enjoy keeping in touch with other members and patients benefit from sharing their experiences, answering questions and providing emotional support to one another. You can also volunteer for our California Protons Champion Program to help support new and current patients, or attend an event or support group. Current and former patients plan social activities on a regular basis and post details in our center’s lobby. You can also stay in touch with patients and staff through our Facebook page at: facebook.com/CaliforniaProtons.

 

Is proton therapy right for you? Discuss your options.