858.283.4771

癌症

用治療肝癌 質子治療


質子療法治療肝癌

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是癌症放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠在該區域內以高劑量放射線選擇性靶向肝腫瘤。

與較早的被動散射質子療法相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可為2毫米以內的肝癌提供精確的放射治療,並提供最大的護理。 我們可以逐層攻擊腫瘤,並最大程度地減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 這對於肝癌患者很重要,因為肝臟是所有在體內循環的血液的中央過濾點。 通常,肝癌患者還患有其他潛在的肝臟疾病,例如肝硬化和肝炎,因此最大限度地減少對健康肝組織和周圍器官的輻射至關重要。 輻射相關毒性的降低還增加了患者以較少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性。

California Protons與UCSD的多學科團隊合作,為質子束放射治療,以治療原發性肝腫瘤,包括肝細胞癌和膽管​​癌(在膽管中形成的癌症)。 一項隨機對照臨床試驗表明,與經動脈化學栓塞術相比,質子束安全,有效,具有毒性小,局部控制增強的潛力。

肝癌
治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 原發性肝癌
  • 起源於其他地方(例如結腸,乳房,胰腺,皮膚和肺部)的肝轉移或癌性腫瘤已擴散到肝臟
  • 復發性癌症

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護您的胃,腎臟,小腸和正常肝臟
  • 在治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少治療的副作用,包括噁心,嘔吐和疲勞
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

質子治療對肝癌的益處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可以精確地控制質子,使其直接在腫瘤中放置布拉格峰(布拉格峰最大的能量沉積點)。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的質子治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向肝癌腫瘤傳遞高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 醫生可以有選擇地對腫瘤進行大劑量輻射,同時減少對周圍重要器官即胃,腎臟和小腸的劑量。 保留這些健康的組織非常重要,因為對這些敏感結構的損壞可能會產生重大的副作用,並可能導致繼發性癌症。
  • 特殊技術可與質子治療一起使用,以極高的技術精度靶向運動的腫瘤。 這對肝癌患者很重要,因為每次呼吸時,肝臟都會運動。
  • 與舊技術不同,可以將治療計劃加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

Is
質子治療肝癌
適合你?

 

根據肝癌的分期,某些肝腫瘤可能需要聯合手術切除,消融,栓塞,化學療法和放射治療。 雖然唯一已知的治療方法是手術切除或肝移植,但用於肝癌的質子治療可提供有效的局部腫瘤控制,同時是比其他治療方法更安全的治療選擇。 肝癌的類型,年齡,總體健康狀況,個人喜好以及患者是否患有基礎肝病(例如肝硬化和肝炎)也會影響治療選擇。

在I期肝癌中,肝臟中只有一個腫瘤。 肝臟的其餘部分健康,附近的血管不受影響。 雖然最常用的治療方法是通過切除手術或肝移植來切除肝臟的患病部位,但通常建議對I期肝癌進行放射治療,以降低癌症擴散或擴散的風險。

在II期肝癌中,有多個直徑小於2英寸的腫瘤,或者腫瘤已經長入血管。 雖然最常見的治療方法是通過切除手術切除肝臟的患病部位,但建議在手術之前或之後進行放射療法以縮小腫瘤或幫助降低癌症復發的風險。 患者也可能成為肝移植的候選人。

在III期肝癌中,至少一個腫瘤的直徑大於2英寸,或者該腫瘤已長入另一器官的主靜脈或外殼。 它尚未擴散到淋巴結或遠處。 雖然最常見的治療方法是通過切除手術切除肝臟的患病部位,但建議在手術之前或之後進行放射療法以縮小腫瘤或幫助降低癌症復發的風險。 如果患者符合器官捐贈的條件,則也可能建議進行完整的肝移植。

在IV期肝癌中,腫瘤擴散到淋巴結或遠處器官。 對於IV期肝癌患者,推薦的藥物治療方法是化學療法,例如化學療法。 質子放射治療可用於縮小腫瘤或控制疼痛。

治療
復發性肝癌

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


肝癌質子療法的治療效果和長期影響

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子療法治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少由於輻射對胃,腎臟和小腸造成的損害而產生的長期且可能威脅生命的副作用。 由於減少了對周圍健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,它也可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Liver
Cancer

Fight Liver Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Liver Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target liver tumors with high-dose radiation within this area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for liver cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for liver cancer patients because the liver is the central filtration point for all of the blood that circulates through the body. Often, liver cancer patients have additional underlying liver disease such as cirrhosis and hepatitis, so minimizing radiation to healthy liver tissue and surrounding organs is crucial. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Liver Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Primary liver cancer
  • Liver metastases or cancerous tumors that originated elsewhere—such as your colon, breast, pancreas, skin and lungs—and has spread to the liver
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your stomach, kidneys, small intestine and normal liver
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including nausea, vomiting and fatigue
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Liver Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous tumors of the liver, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Doctors can selectively place high-dose radiation on your tumor, while simultaneously reducing the dose to your surrounding critical organs, namely your stomach, kidneys and small intestine. Sparing these healthy tissues is extremely important as damage to these sensitive structures can have significant side effects and may lead to secondary cancers.
  • Specialized techniques can be used with proton therapy to target a moving tumor with great technical precision. This is important for liver cancer patients because every time you breathe, your liver moves.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Depending on the stage of liver cancer, combined treatments of resection surgery, ablation, embolization, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some liver tumors. While the only known curative treatments are surgical resection or liver transplant, proton therapy can provide effective local tumor control while being a much safer treatment option than other treatments. Treatment options are also affected by the type of liver cancer, age, overall health, personal preferences and whether or not the patient has underlying liver disease such as cirrhosis and hepatitis.

There is a single tumor in the liver. The rest of the liver is healthy and nearby blood vessels are not affected. While removing the diseased part of the liver through resection surgery or liver transplant are the most common treatment approaches, radiation therapy for stage I liver cancer is often recommended to reduce the risk of cancer growing or spreading.

There are several tumors smaller than 2 inches across or a tumor has grown into the blood vessels. While removing the diseased part of the liver through resection surgery is the most common treatment, radiation therapy may be recommended before or after surgery to shrink a tumor or help reduce the risk of cancer returning. Patients may also become a candidate for a liver transplant.

At least one tumor is larger than 2 inches across or the tumors have grown into a major vein or the outer covering of another organ. It has not spread into lymph nodes or distant sites. While removing the diseased part of the liver through resection surgery is the most common treatment, radiation therapy may be recommended before or after surgery to shrink a tumor or help reduce the risk of cancer returning. If a patient is eligible for organ donation, a complete liver transplant may also be recommended.

At this stage, tumors have spread into the lymph nodes or distant organs. Drug therapy such as chemotherapy are the main treatments recommended for patients with stage IV liver cancer. Proton radiation treatment may be used to shrink tumors or control pain.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Proton Therapy Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects due to radiation damage to the stomach, kidneys and small intestine. It may also lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options