858.283.4771
كبد
السرطان.

علاج سرطان الكبد العلاج بالبروتون


علاج سرطان الكبد بالعلاج بالبروتون

تعد تقنية مسح شعاع قلم رصاص المعدلة بشكل مكثف في كاليفورنيا بروتونز شكلًا دقيقًا للغاية من العلاج الإشعاعي للسرطان الذي يمكن أطبائنا من استهداف أورام الكبد بشكل انتقائي بجرعة عالية من الإشعاع داخل هذه المنطقة.

مقارنةً بعلاج البروتون المتناثر السلبي القديم ، فإن تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص لدينا تقدم بدقة العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان الكبد في حدود 2 ملم وبأقصى قدر من الرعاية. يمكننا مهاجمة الأورام طبقة تلو الأخرى وتقليل التعرض الضار للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة. هذا مهم لمرضى سرطان الكبد لأن الكبد هو نقطة الترشيح المركزية لجميع الدم الذي يدور عبر الجسم. في كثير من الأحيان ، يعاني مرضى سرطان الكبد من أمراض كبدية إضافية مثل تليف الكبد والتهاب الكبد ، لذا فإن تقليل الإشعاع إلى أنسجة الكبد والأعضاء المحيطة أمر بالغ الأهمية. كما أن تقليل السمية المرتبطة بالإشعاع يزيد أيضًا من احتمالية أن يتمكن المرضى من إكمال العلاج بعد انقطاع أو تأخير أقل.

من خلال العمل مع فريق متعدد التخصصات في UCSD ، تقدم California Protons علاجًا إشعاعيًا بحزمة البروتون لأورام الكبد الأولية بما في ذلك سرطان الكبد وسرطان القنوات الصفراوية (سرطان يتشكل في القنوات الصفراوية). أظهرت تجربة سريرية معشاة ذات شواهد أن شعاع البروتون آمن وفعال مع احتمال انخفاض السمية وزيادة التحكم المحلي مقارنة بالانسداد الكيميائي عبر الأوعية.

سرطان الكبد
تفاصيل العلاج

ما نتعامل معه

  • سرطان الكبد الابتدائي
  • انبثاث الكبد أو الأورام السرطانية التي نشأت في مكان آخر - مثل القولون والثدي والبنكرياس والجلد والرئتين - وانتشرت إلى الكبد
  • سرطان متكرر

ما الذي نوفره لك

  • استهدف الورم فقط
  • حماية معدتك وكليتك والأمعاء الدقيقة والكبد الطبيعي
  • حافظ على جودة حياتك أثناء العلاج
  • الحد من الآثار الجانبية للعلاج ، بما في ذلك الغثيان والقيء والتعب
  • يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي بسبب الإشعاع

فوائد العلاج بالبروتون لعلاج سرطان الكبد

  • تتحكم تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص الخاصة بنا بدقة في البروتونات لوضع ذروة Bragg - النقطة التي يودعون عندها أقصى طاقتهم - مباشرة في الورم. هذا يسمح لنا بمعالجة أشكال الورم الأكثر تعقيدًا وتغيير الجرعة داخل الورم.
  • يسمح العلاج المتقدم بالبروتون للأطباء بتوصيل أشعة الجرعات بشكل أكثر انتقائية إلى أورام الكبد السرطانية ، ويقلل الجرعة إلى الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة والأعضاء الحرجة. في بعض الحالات ، ثبت أن هذا يقدم معدلات علاج أعلى من العلاج الإشعاعي بالأشعة السينية حتى في بعض الحالات الأكثر صعوبة.
  • يمكن للأطباء وضع جرعة عالية من الإشعاع بشكل انتقائي على الورم الخاص بك ، مع تقليل الجرعة في الوقت نفسه إلى الأعضاء الحرجة المحيطة بك ، وهي المعدة والكلى والأمعاء الدقيقة. حفظ هذه الأنسجة السليمة مهم للغاية حيث أن تلف هذه الهياكل الحساسة يمكن أن يكون له آثار جانبية كبيرة وقد يؤدي إلى سرطانات ثانوية.
  • يمكن استخدام التقنيات المتخصصة مع العلاج بالبروتون لاستهداف ورم متحرك بدقة فنية كبيرة. هذا مهم لمرضى سرطان الكبد لأنه في كل مرة تتنفس فيها ، يتحرك الكبد.
  • على عكس التكنولوجيا القديمة ، يمكن تحميل خطة العلاج في الكمبيوتر وإكمالها في غضون دقائق. تعتبر العلاجات أيضًا غير جراحية ومريحة حتى يتمكن المرضى من العودة إلى أنشطتهم اليومية بشكل أسرع.

Is
العلاج البروتوني لسرطان الكبد
مناسب لك؟

 

اعتمادًا على مرحلة سرطان الكبد ، قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى علاجات مشتركة لجراحة الاستئصال ، والاستئصال ، والانسداد ، والعلاج الكيميائي والإشعاع لبعض أورام الكبد. في حين أن العلاجات العلاجية الوحيدة المعروفة هي الاستئصال الجراحي أو زرع الكبد ، فإن العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان الكبد يمكن أن يوفر تحكمًا فعالًا في الورم المحلي بينما يكون خيارًا أكثر أمانًا من العلاجات الأخرى. تتأثر خيارات العلاج أيضًا بنوع سرطان الكبد والعمر والصحة العامة والتفضيلات الشخصية وما إذا كان المريض يعاني من أمراض الكبد الأساسية مثل تليف الكبد والتهاب الكبد.

في المرحلة الأولى من سرطان الكبد ، يوجد ورم واحد في الكبد. بقية الكبد صحية ولا تتأثر الأوعية الدموية القريبة. في حين أن إزالة الجزء المصاب من الكبد من خلال جراحة الاستئصال أو زرع الكبد هي أكثر طرق العلاج شيوعًا ، غالبًا ما يوصى بالعلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان الكبد في المرحلة الأولى لتقليل خطر الإصابة بالسرطان أو الانتشار.

في المرحلة الثانية من سرطان الكبد ، يوجد العديد من الأورام التي يقل حجمها عن بوصتين أو نما ورم في الأوعية الدموية. في حين أن إزالة الجزء المصاب من الكبد من خلال جراحة الاستئصال هو العلاج الأكثر شيوعًا ، فقد يوصى بالعلاج الإشعاعي قبل الجراحة أو بعدها لتقليص الورم أو المساعدة في تقليل خطر عودة السرطان. قد يصبح المرضى أيضًا مرشحين لعملية زراعة الكبد.

في المرحلة الثالثة من سرطان الكبد ، يكون عرض ورم واحد على الأقل أكبر من 2 بوصة أو نمت الأورام إلى وريد رئيسي أو الغلاف الخارجي لعضو آخر. لم ينتشر في الغدد الليمفاوية أو المواقع البعيدة. في حين أن إزالة الجزء المصاب من الكبد من خلال جراحة الاستئصال هو العلاج الأكثر شيوعًا ، فقد يوصى بالعلاج الإشعاعي قبل الجراحة أو بعدها لتقليص الورم أو المساعدة في تقليل خطر عودة السرطان. إذا كان المريض مؤهلاً للتبرع بالأعضاء ، فقد يوصى أيضًا بإجراء عملية زرع كبد كاملة.

في المرحلة الرابعة من سرطان الكبد ، انتشرت الأورام في العقد الليمفاوية أو الأعضاء البعيدة. بالنسبة لمرضى سرطان الكبد في المرحلة الرابعة ، يعد العلاج بالعقاقير مثل العلاج الكيميائي العلاجات الرئيسية الموصى بها. يمكن استخدام العلاج الإشعاعي البروتوني لتقليص الأورام أو السيطرة على الألم.

علاج ل
سرطان الكبد المتكرر

غالبًا ما يكون العلاج بالبروتون هو أفضل طريقة للعلاج أورام متكررة في المناطق التي سبق علاجها بالعلاج الإشعاعي.

يمكن أن يكون علاج المناطق المشععة سابقًا أمرًا صعبًا. لا تنسى الأنسجة السليمة حول الورم المتكرر جرعة الإشعاع السابقة تمامًا ، وتستمر أي جرعة مضافة في زيادة خطر إصابة الأنسجة الطبيعية. قد يمكّن العلاج بحزمة البروتون الأطباء من تركيز الجرعة بشكل أفضل على الهدف وتحديدها في مكان آخر ، مما يسمح بإعادة العلاج بالإشعاع في المرضى المختارين.


نتائج علاج سرطان الكبد بالبروتون والتأثيرات طويلة المدى

قد يقدم علاج العلاج بالبروتون في مركز كاليفورنيا لعلاج سرطان البروتون في سان دييغو نتائج مشابهة للإشعاع القياسي بالأشعة السينية ، مع الحد من الآثار الجانبية طويلة المدى والتي قد تهدد الحياة بسبب الأضرار الإشعاعية للمعدة والكلى والأمعاء الدقيقة. قد يقلل أيضًا من فرص الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي في وقت لاحق من الحياة بسبب انخفاض التعرض للإشعاع للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة بك.

ومع ذلك ، فإن جميع علاجات السرطان لها مزايا وعيوب. تأكد من مناقشة جميع المخاطر المحتملة ، وكذلك خيارات العلاج ، مع طبيب الأورام الخاص بك.

عن العلاج بالبروتون

خيارات التغطية

الأسئلة المتكررة

Liver
Cancer

Fight Liver Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Liver Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target liver tumors with high-dose radiation within this area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for liver cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for liver cancer patients because the liver is the central filtration point for all of the blood that circulates through the body. Often, liver cancer patients have additional underlying liver disease such as cirrhosis and hepatitis, so minimizing radiation to healthy liver tissue and surrounding organs is crucial. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Liver Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Primary liver cancer
  • Liver metastases or cancerous tumors that originated elsewhere—such as your colon, breast, pancreas, skin and lungs—and has spread to the liver
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your stomach, kidneys, small intestine and normal liver
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including nausea, vomiting and fatigue
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Liver Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous tumors of the liver, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Doctors can selectively place high-dose radiation on your tumor, while simultaneously reducing the dose to your surrounding critical organs, namely your stomach, kidneys and small intestine. Sparing these healthy tissues is extremely important as damage to these sensitive structures can have significant side effects and may lead to secondary cancers.
  • Specialized techniques can be used with proton therapy to target a moving tumor with great technical precision. This is important for liver cancer patients because every time you breathe, your liver moves.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Depending on the stage of liver cancer, combined treatments of resection surgery, ablation, embolization, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some liver tumors. While the only known curative treatments are surgical resection or liver transplant, proton therapy can provide effective local tumor control while being a much safer treatment option than other treatments. Treatment options are also affected by the type of liver cancer, age, overall health, personal preferences and whether or not the patient has underlying liver disease such as cirrhosis and hepatitis.

There is a single tumor in the liver. The rest of the liver is healthy and nearby blood vessels are not affected. While removing the diseased part of the liver through resection surgery or liver transplant are the most common treatment approaches, radiation therapy for stage I liver cancer is often recommended to reduce the risk of cancer growing or spreading.

There are several tumors smaller than 2 inches across or a tumor has grown into the blood vessels. While removing the diseased part of the liver through resection surgery is the most common treatment, radiation therapy may be recommended before or after surgery to shrink a tumor or help reduce the risk of cancer returning. Patients may also become a candidate for a liver transplant.

At least one tumor is larger than 2 inches across or the tumors have grown into a major vein or the outer covering of another organ. It has not spread into lymph nodes or distant sites. While removing the diseased part of the liver through resection surgery is the most common treatment, radiation therapy may be recommended before or after surgery to shrink a tumor or help reduce the risk of cancer returning. If a patient is eligible for organ donation, a complete liver transplant may also be recommended.

At this stage, tumors have spread into the lymph nodes or distant organs. Drug therapy such as chemotherapy are the main treatments recommended for patients with stage IV liver cancer. Proton radiation treatment may be used to shrink tumors or control pain.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Proton Therapy Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects due to radiation damage to the stomach, kidneys and small intestine. It may also lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options