858.283.4771

質子療法高精度,低侵襲性地治療癌症


加利福尼亞質子公司使用革命性的質子束技術,以無與倫比的精確度和最大程度的護理幫助抗擊癌症。

什麼是質子治療?

質子治療是一種高度準確且侵入性較小的癌症治療形式。 質子是帶有正電荷的亞原子粒子,可以對其進行控制和控制,以直接在腫瘤處停止和傳遞放射線,其傳播距離不超過腫瘤的外部。 這對於那些容易受到輻射或已經接受過先前輻射到需要治療的區域或緊鄰需要治療的區域的人特別有益。

質子治療vs.
標準X射線輻射

標準X射線和質子輻射都是用於治療各種類型癌症的“外部束”放射療法。 但是,每種材料的性質都非常不同,並導致輻射暴露水平不同。 標準的X射線治療束在到達腫瘤之前會沿其路徑沉積能量,從而向健康組織和周圍器官傳遞不必要的且可能有害的輻射。 另一方面,可以控制質子治療的劑量以將大部分能量沉積在腫瘤內部。

X射線輻射

  • 不含質量或電荷
  • 穿透力強的射線可以在整個組織範圍內輻射
  • 射線將大部分初始輻射劑量(進入劑量)沉積在靠近患者皮膚的位置,同時與更接近表面的健康細胞相互作用,然後將剩餘的電離輻射劑量投向病深的細胞
  • 類似於X射線成像,射線自然穿過人體時會繼續發出輻射(退出劑量)

鉛筆束質子治療輻射

  • 質子束由重的帶電粒子組成
  • 質子進入人體,在到達靶標的過程中僅沉積少量,幾乎沒有
  • 吸收劑量隨著劑量的增加和速度的降低而逐漸增加,直到光束達到 布拉格峰-沉積最大能量的點-正好在腫瘤部位內
  • 能量爆發後,質子束立即完全停止,並且所有其他輻射均停止

質子療法與標準放射

聖地亞哥的CA Protons提供質子治療的好處

我們的鉛筆束掃描技術

我們的筆形束掃描技術(稱為強度調製質子治療或IMPT)精確地在2毫米之內傳送,釋放出大劑量的致癌輻射,符合腫瘤的獨特形狀和大小。 即使在難以掃描的地方,我們的醫生也可以引導和操縱質子束以精確地停在腫瘤邊緣,以保留健康的組織和周圍器官。

與老式的被動散射質子療法不同,我們的質子中心的筆形束掃描技術進一步提高了所發射輻射的精度。 通過使醫生能夠微調質子束的範圍和強度,我們可以在細衝程中掃過整個腫瘤的窄質子束,同時逐層增加強度和劑量。 加利福尼亞質子公司是美國第一家在我們所有五個治療室中都提供筆形束質子技術的質子診所。


錐形束CT成像

聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心是整個加利福尼亞州唯一的質子治療設施,並且是全美國少數幾個能夠始終使用錐束CT(CBCT)的設施。 CT成像的顯著進步幫助我們為患者帶來了最先進的技術。

與我們的筆形束掃描技術結合使用,Cone Beam CT可實現常規CT成像的更緊湊,更快和更安全的版本。 通過使用錐形X射線束,顯著減少了輻射劑量,掃描儀的大小和掃描所需的時間,同時提高了圖像精度。 全面掃描所需的時間通常不到一分鐘,輻射劑量比常規CT掃描器少一百倍。


瓦里安ProBeam質子系統

我們的質子中心是該國最大的最先進的質子系統之一,由迴旋加速器,束流線,兩個固定束處理室和三個旋轉龍門處理室組成。

迴旋加速器是一種90噸重的設備,設計用於每秒產生約5萬億個質子,然後以約100,000英里/秒或光速的0.61倍的速度沿螺旋路徑從中心向外加速質子,以產生可精確地到達腫瘤。 質子束從迴旋加速器傳播到整個建築物長度的束線,並使用一系列電磁體將束彎曲並聚焦到每個治療室中。 質子從那里通過專用噴嘴以機械精度傳遞到兩個固定射束治療室或三個旋轉龍門室之一。 280噸旋轉龍門機可圍繞患者旋轉360°,以確保理想的治療角度。


質子治療束技術的7個主要優點

激光般的精度
質子可以被操縱以停止並直接在腫瘤上傳遞輻射,而不再傳遞。

輻射劑量變化
質子治療使醫生可以改變腫瘤內任何位置的放射劑量強度,這是其他技術無法實現的。

治療多種腫瘤
我們的質子治療技術擴大了治療範圍,可治療更大,形狀更不規則的腫瘤。 與被動散佈的質子相比,它還可以治療更多類型的腫瘤。

繼發腫瘤的發生率較低
與標準X射線輻射相比,降低的輻射毒性導致繼發腫瘤的發生率降低。

副作用最小
由於質子療法可節省腫瘤周圍的健康組織,因此不太可能出現腹瀉,噁心,頭痛和食慾不振等副作用。 治療後,大多數患者恢復其日常工作。

治療時間快
我們用鉛筆束掃描代替了較舊的無源散射質子技術的笨重設備。 與舊技術不同,我們的治療計劃可以加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成,從而使患者能夠更快地恢復生活。

個性化護理
我們享譽全球的醫療團隊致力於為我們的患者提供最個性化,最全面的癌症護理,並提供最新的醫學進步和技術。 了解更多


質子療法的治療細節和
治療期間的生活

質子療法是一種無創且通常無痛的療法,在此期間,患者不會從質子束中感覺到任何物理感覺,幾乎聽不到噪音,並且感到的不適感最小。 與較早的技術不同,每次治療大約需要30分鐘,而實際治療時間僅需要1-3分鐘。 完整的雙向視頻和音頻允許醫療團隊成員和患者在整個過程中進行溝通。

質子治療的副作用是什麼?

在許多情況下,質子療法與X射線療法相比,與外部束放射療法有關的腹瀉,頭痛和食慾不振等副作用要少。 大多數患者能夠在整個治療過程中繼續其日常活動,包括工作,鍛煉和社交。 但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 請務必與腫瘤科醫生討論潛在的並發症和副作用,以及治療方案。

對質子治療有疑問嗎? 我們可以提供幫助。

質子束治療的歷史

1946年,美國物理學家,前曼哈頓項目組負責人羅伯特·威爾遜(Robert Wilson)發表了具有里程碑意義的論文《快速質子的放射學應用》,為質子治療領域奠定了基礎。 在他的論文中,他是第一個提出可以在臨床上使用質子,不影響正常組織並允許在腫瘤內部最大程度地放置放射劑量的人。

第一次質子輻射治療是在1950年代中期使用粒子加速器進行的,該粒子加速器是為加利福尼亞大學伯克利分校的物理實驗室研究而製造的,後來又在哈佛迴旋加速器實驗室進行了研究。 全國第一個以醫院為基礎的質子治療中心於1990年在南加州的洛馬琳達大學醫學中心開業。 自那時以來,在美國開設了二十多家以患者為中心的質子治療中心,其中包括聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心。

 

質子治療的費用

質子治療的費用取決於癌症的類型,腫瘤的位置,分期,必須進行多少次治療以及其他因素。 儘管在某些情況下它比傳統的X射線輻射貴,但由於更先進,更精確的技術大大減少了對附近健康組織和器官的輻射,因此減少了長期副作用和復發機會。

Maximum treatment.
Minimum side effects.


California Protons uses revolutionary proton beam technology to help fight cancer with unmatched precision and the utmost care.

Proton therapy is a highly accurate and much less invasive form of cancer treatment. Protons are subatomic particles with a positive charge that can be manipulated and controlled to stop and deliver radiation directly at a tumor, traveling no further than the exterior tumor wall. This is particularly beneficial to those who are vulnerable to radiation or have received prior radiation either to or immediately adjacent to the area that needs to be treated.

Proton Therapy vs.
Standard X-ray Radiation

Standard X-ray and proton radiation are both types of “external beam” radiotherapy used to treat various types of cancers. However, the properties of each are very different and result in varying levels of radiation exposure. Standard X-ray treatment beams deposit energy along their paths before reaching the tumor, thus delivering unnecessary and potentially harmful radiation to healthy tissues and surrounding organs. Proton therapy doses, on the other hand, can be controlled to deposit most of the energy inside the tumor.

X-Ray Radiation

  • Contains no mass or electric charge
  • Highly penetrating rays can deliver radiation throughout any volume of tissue
  • Rays deposit most of the initial dose of radiation (entry dose) close to the patient’s skin, while interacting with the healthy cells closer to the surface, and then drop the remaining dose of ionizing radiation on the deeper diseased cells
  • Rays continue to emit radiation as they naturally pass through the body (exit dose) similar to X-ray imaging

Pencil Beam Proton Therapy Radiation

  • Beam made up of heavy, charged particles
  • Protons enter the body and deposit only a small dose along the way to the target and virtually none beyond it
  • The absorbed dose increases very gradually with greater dose and lower speed until the beam reaches the Bragg peak—the point at which the maximum energy is deposited—which is directed exactly within the tumor site
  • Immediately after this burst of energy, the proton beam comes to a complete stop, and any additional radiation ceases

Our Pencil Beam Scanning Technology

Precisely delivered within 2 millimeters, our pencil beam scanning technology (known as Intensity Modulated Proton Therapy or IMPT) releases a high dose of cancer-killing radiation that conforms to the unique shape and size of the tumor. Even in hard-to-scan places, our doctors can direct and manipulate the beam of protons to stop precisely at the edge of the tumor to spare healthy tissues and surrounding organs.

Unlike older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our center’s pencil beam scanning technology further enhances the precision of the radiation delivered. By enabling physicians to fine-tune the range and intensity of the proton beam, we can sweep a narrow proton beam across the tumor in fine strokes, while increasing intensity and dose layer by layer inside the tumor. California Protons was the first in the nation to offer pencil beam proton technology in all five of our treatment rooms.


Cone Beam CT Imaging

California Protons is the only proton therapy facility in all of California, and only one of a handful throughout the U.S., to consistently utilize Cone Beam CT (CBCT). This notable advancement in CT imaging helps us bring the most advanced technology to our patients.

Used in conjunction with our pencil beam scanning technology, Cone Beam CT enables a more compact, faster and safer version of regular CT imaging. Through the use of a cone-shaped X-ray beam, the radiation dose, size of the scanner and time needed for scanning are all dramatically reduced, while the image accuracy is improved. The time needed for a full scan is typically under one minute and the radiation dose is up to a hundred times less than that of a regular CT scanner.


Varian ProBeam Proton System

Our center is home to one of the largest state-of-the-art proton systems in the country, comprised of a cyclotron, beamline, two fixed beam treatment rooms and three rotational gantry treatment rooms.

The Cyclotron is a 90-ton device engineered to generate about 5 trillion protons per second and then accelerate protons outwards from the center along a spiral path at roughly 100,000 miles per second, or 0.61 times the speed of light, to create a beam that can precisely reach tumors. The proton beam travels from the cyclotron to the beam line, which spans the length of the building, and uses a series of electromagnets to bend and focus the beam into each treatment room. From there, the protons are delivered with mechanical precision to one of the two fixed beam treatment rooms or three rotational gantry rooms through a specialized nozzle. The 280-ton rotational gantry machine rotates 360˚ around the patient to ensure an ideal treatment angle.


7 Main Benefits of Proton Beam Technology

Laser-like precision
Protons can be manipulated to stop and deliver radiation directly at a tumor and no further.

Radiation dose variation
Proton therapy allows physicians to vary the intensity of the radiation dose at any point within the tumor, which was not possible with other technologies.

Treatment for many tumor types
Our technology expands the treatment options to treat larger and more irregularly shaped tumors. It also allows more types of tumors to be treated compared to what was possible with passively scattered protons.

Lower incidence of secondary tumors
Reduced radiation toxicity results in a lower incidence of secondary tumors compared to standard X-ray radiation.

Minimal side effects
Because proton therapy spares healthy tissue surrounding a tumor, side effects such as diarrhea, nausea, headache and loss of appetite are less likely. After treatment, most patients resume their daily routines.

Fast treatment time
We replaced the heavy, cumbersome devices of older passive-scattering proton technology with pencil beam scanning. Unlike the older technology, our treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes so that patients can get back to their lives quicker.

Personalized care
Our world-renowned medical team is committed to providing the most personalized, comprehensive cancer care for our patients, and offers the latest in medical advancements and technology. Learn More


Treatment Details &
Life During Treatment

Proton therapy is a noninvasive and often painless treatment, during which patients feel no physical sensation from the proton beam, hear very little noise and experience minimal discomfort. Unlike the older technology, each treatment session takes around 30 minutes, with the actual treatment time taking only 1 to 3 minutes. Full two-way video and audio allow medical team members and patients to communicate throughout the process.

In many cases, side effects associated with external beam radiation therapy such as diarrhea, headache and loss of appetite are fewer with proton therapy than with X-ray therapy. Most patients are able to continue their usual activities throughout their treatment, including working, exercising and socializing. However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss potential complications and side effects, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

Questions about proton therapy? We can help.

History of Proton Therapy

In 1946, American physicist and former Manhattan Project group leader Robert Wilson laid the groundwork for the field of proton therapy with the publication of his landmark paper, “Radiological use of Fast Protons.” In this paper, he was the first to suggest that protons could be used clinically, sparing normal tissue and allowing for the maximum placement of the radiation dose inside the tumor.

The first proton radiation treatments were performed in the mid-1950s using a particle accelerator built for physics laboratory research at the University of California, Berkeley, and later at the Harvard Cyclotron Laboratory. The nation’s first hospital-based proton therapy center opened in 1990 at the Loma Linda University Medical Center in Southern California. Since then, more than twenty patient-focused proton therapy centers have opened in the United States, including the California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego.