858.283.4771

علاج السرطان عالي الدقة وأقل توغلاً مع العلاج بالبروتون


تستخدم كاليفورنيا بروتونز تقنية شعاع البروتون الثورية للمساعدة في محاربة السرطان بدقة لا مثيل لها والعناية القصوى.

ما هو العلاج بالبروتون؟

العلاج بالبروتون هو شكل دقيق للغاية وأقل اجتياحًا لعلاج السرطان. البروتونات هي جسيمات دون ذرية ذات شحنة موجبة يمكن معالجتها والتحكم فيها لإيقاف الإشعاع وإيصاله مباشرة عند الورم ، ولا تتحرك أبعد من جدار الورم الخارجي. هذا مفيد بشكل خاص لأولئك المعرضين للإشعاع أو الذين تلقوا إشعاعًا مسبقًا إما إلى المنطقة التي تحتاج إلى علاج أو بجوارها مباشرة.

العلاج بالبروتون مقابل
الأشعة السينية القياسية

الأشعة السينية القياسية وإشعاع البروتون نوعان من العلاج الإشعاعي "الشعاع الخارجي" المستخدم لعلاج أنواع مختلفة من السرطانات. ومع ذلك ، فإن خصائص كل منها مختلفة للغاية وتؤدي إلى مستويات مختلفة من التعرض للإشعاع. تقوم حزم العلاج بالأشعة السينية القياسية بإيداع الطاقة على طول مساراتها قبل الوصول إلى الورم ، وبالتالي توصيل إشعاع غير ضروري ومن المحتمل أن يكون ضارًا للأنسجة السليمة والأعضاء المحيطة. من ناحية أخرى ، يمكن التحكم في جرعات العلاج بالبروتون لإيداع معظم الطاقة داخل الورم.

أشعة إكس

  • لا يحتوي على كتلة أو شحنة كهربائية
  • يمكن للأشعة عالية الاختراق إيصال الإشعاع عبر أي حجم من الأنسجة
  • تودع الأشعة معظم جرعة الإشعاع الأولية (جرعة دخول) بالقرب من جلد المريض ، بينما تتفاعل مع الخلايا السليمة القريبة من السطح ، ثم تسقط الجرعة المتبقية من الإشعاع المؤين على الخلايا المريضة العميقة
  • تستمر الأشعة في بث الإشعاع لأنها تمر بشكل طبيعي عبر الجسم (جرعة خروج) مشابهة لتصوير الأشعة السينية

شعاع قلم رصاص بروتون العلاج الإشعاعي

  • يتكون شعاع البروتون من جسيمات ثقيلة مشحونة
  • تدخل البروتونات الجسم وتودع فقط جرعة صغيرة على طول الطريق إلى الهدف ولا شيء يتجاوزها
  • تزداد الجرعة الممتصة تدريجيًا مع جرعة أكبر وسرعة أقل حتى تصل الحزمة قمة براج - النقطة التي يتم عندها ترسيخ الطاقة القصوى -والذي يتم توجيهه بالضبط داخل موقع الورم
  • مباشرة بعد هذا الاندفاع من الطاقة ، تتوقف الحزمة البروتونية تمامًا ، ويتوقف أي إشعاع إضافي

العلاج بالبروتون مقابل الإشعاع القياسي

فوائد العلاج بالبروتون من CA Protons في سان دييغو

تقنية المسح الشعاعي بالقلم الرصاص

تُقدم تقنية مسح شعاع القلم الرصاص (المعروفة باسم العلاج بالبروتون المُعَدَّل المكثف أو IMPT) ، التي يتم تسليمها بدقة في حدود 2 مم ، جرعة عالية من الإشعاع القاتل للسرطان الذي يتوافق مع شكل الورم وحجمه الفريدين. حتى في الأماكن التي يصعب مسحها ، يمكن لأطبائنا توجيه شعاع البروتونات ومعالجتها للتوقف بدقة عند حافة الورم لتجنيب الأنسجة السليمة والأعضاء المحيطة بها.

على عكس علاج العلاج بالبروتون المتناثر السلبي القديم ، فإن تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص في مركز البروتون لدينا تعزز دقة الإشعاع الذي يتم تسليمه. من خلال تمكين الأطباء من ضبط نطاق وشدة شعاع البروتون بشكل دقيق ، يمكننا مسح شعاع بروتون ضيق عبر الورم بضربات دقيقة ، مع زيادة الكثافة وطبقة الجرعة بطبقة داخل الورم. كانت كاليفورنيا بروتونز أول عيادة بروتون في البلاد تقدم تقنية بروتون شعاع القلم الرصاص في جميع غرف العلاج الخمس لدينا.


مخروط أشعة مقطعية

مركز كاليفورنيا لعلاج البروتونات للسرطان في سان دييغو هو مرفق العلاج بالبروتون الوحيد في ولاية كاليفورنيا ، وواحد فقط من حفنة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، لاستخدام Cone Beam CT (CBCT) باستمرار. يساعدنا هذا التقدم الملحوظ في التصوير المقطعي المحوسب على تقديم أحدث التقنيات لمرضانا.

تُستخدم Cone Beam CT جنبًا إلى جنب مع تقنية مسح شعاع القلم الرصاص ، مما يتيح إصدارًا مضغوطًا وأسرع وأكثر أمانًا للتصوير المقطعي المحوسب العادي. من خلال استخدام شعاع أشعة مخروطي الشكل ، يتم تقليل جرعة الإشعاع وحجم الماسح الضوئي والوقت اللازم للمسح الضوئي بشكل كبير ، بينما يتم تحسين دقة الصورة. عادةً ما يكون الوقت اللازم لإجراء فحص كامل أقل من دقيقة واحدة وجرعة الإشعاع أقل بما يصل إلى مائة مرة من جرعة الأشعة المقطعية العادية.


نظام فاريان ProBeam بروتون

مركز البروتون الخاص بنا هو موطن لواحد من أكبر أنظمة البروتونات الحديثة في البلاد ، ويتكون من سيكلوترون ، وخط شعاع ، وغرفتي معالجة شعاع ثابتة وثلاث غرف معالجة جسرية دورانية.

كيف يتم استخدام السيكلوترون في العلاج بالبروتون؟

Cyclotron هو جهاز بوزن 90 طنًا تم تصميمه لتوليد حوالي 5 تريليون بروتون في الثانية ثم تسريع البروتونات للخارج من المركز على طول مسار حلزوني بسرعة 100,000 ميل في الثانية تقريبًا ، أو 0.61 ضعف سرعة الضوء ، لإنشاء شعاع يمكنه تصل بدقة إلى الأورام. تنتقل شعاع البروتون من السيكلوترون إلى خط الشعاع ، الذي يمتد على طول المبنى ، ويستخدم سلسلة من المغناطيسات الكهربائية لثني الحزمة وتركيزها في كل غرفة معالجة. من هناك ، يتم تسليم البروتونات بدقة ميكانيكية إلى إحدى غرفتي معالجة الشعاع الثابت أو ثلاث غرف قنطرة دورانية من خلال فوهة متخصصة. آلة جسرية دوارة بوزن 280 طن تدور 360 درجة حول المريض لضمان زاوية علاج مثالية.


7 المزايا الرئيسية لتقنية شعاع العلاج بالبروتون

يقدم العلاج بالبروتون العديد من الفوائد التي لا توفرها علاجات السرطان الأخرى. تشمل مزايا العلاج بالبروتون ما يلي:

 

دقة تشبه الليزر
يمكن معالجة البروتونات لإيقاف الإشعاع وإيصاله مباشرة عند الورم وليس بعد ذلك.

اختلاف جرعة الإشعاع
يسمح العلاج بالبروتون للأطباء بتغيير شدة جرعة الإشعاع في أي وقت داخل الورم ، وهو ما لم يكن ممكنًا مع التقنيات الأخرى.

علاج العديد من أنواع الأورام
توسع تقنية العلاج بالبروتون لدينا خيارات العلاج لعلاج الأورام الأكبر والأشكال غير المنتظمة. كما أنه يسمح بمعالجة أنواع أكثر من الأورام مقارنة بما كان ممكنًا مع البروتونات المتناثرة بشكل سلبي.

انخفاض حدوث الأورام الثانوية
يؤدي انخفاض سمية الإشعاع إلى انخفاض حدوث الأورام الثانوية مقارنة بإشعاع الأشعة السينية القياسي.

الحد الأدنى من الآثار الجانبية
لأن العلاج بالبروتون يحفظ الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة بالورم ، فإن الآثار الجانبية مثل الإسهال والغثيان والصداع وفقدان الشهية أقل احتمالًا. بعد العلاج ، يستأنف معظم المرضى روتينهم اليومي.

وقت العلاج السريع
لقد استبدلنا الأجهزة الثقيلة والمرهقة لتقنية البروتون المتشتتة السلبية القديمة بمسح شعاع قلم الرصاص. على عكس التكنولوجيا القديمة ، يمكن تحميل خطة العلاج لدينا في الكمبيوتر وإكمالها في غضون دقائق حتى يتمكن المرضى من العودة إلى حياتهم بشكل أسرع.

رعاية شخصية
يلتزم فريقنا الطبي المشهور عالميًا بتوفير الرعاية الأكثر شمولاً وشمولاً لمرضانا ، ويقدم أحدث ما توصلت إليه التطورات الطبية والتكنولوجيا. اعرف المزيد


تفاصيل العلاج بالبروتون
الحياة أثناء العلاج

العلاج بالبروتون هو علاج غير جراحي وغالبًا ما يكون غير مؤلم ، حيث لا يشعر المرضى بأي إحساس جسدي من شعاع البروتون ، ويسمعون ضوضاء قليلة جدًا ويختبرون الحد الأدنى من الانزعاج. على عكس التكنولوجيا القديمة ، تستغرق كل جلسة علاج حوالي 30 دقيقة ، ويستغرق وقت العلاج الفعلي من 1 إلى 3 دقائق فقط. يسمح الفيديو والصوت الكامل ثنائي الاتجاه لأعضاء الفريق الطبي والمرضى بالتواصل طوال العملية.

ما هي الآثار الجانبية للعلاج بالبروتون؟

في كثير من الحالات ، تكون الآثار الجانبية المرتبطة بالعلاج الإشعاعي الخارجي مثل الإسهال والصداع وفقدان الشهية أقل مع العلاج بالبروتون مقارنة بالعلاج بالأشعة السينية. معظم المرضى قادرون على مواصلة أنشطتهم المعتادة طوال فترة العلاج ، بما في ذلك العمل وممارسة الرياضة والتواصل الاجتماعي. ومع ذلك ، فإن لجميع علاجات السرطان مزايا وعيوب. تأكد من مناقشة المضاعفات والآثار الجانبية المحتملة ، بالإضافة إلى خيارات العلاج ، مع طبيب الأورام.

أسئلة حول العلاج بالبروتون؟ نستطيع المساعدة.

تاريخ العلاج بحزمة البروتون

في عام 1946 ، وضع الفيزيائي الأمريكي وزعيم مجموعة مشروع مانهاتن السابق روبرت ويلسون الأسس لمجال العلاج بالبروتون من خلال نشر بحثه التاريخي ، "الاستخدام الإشعاعي للبروتونات السريعة". في هذه الورقة ، كان أول من اقترح إمكانية استخدام البروتونات سريريًا ، مما يحافظ على الأنسجة الطبيعية ويسمح بوضع الحد الأقصى من جرعة الإشعاع داخل الورم.

كان العلاج بالبروتون موجودًا منذ أكثر من 65 عامًا. أُجريت أولى المعالجات الإشعاعية بالبروتونات في منتصف الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي باستخدام مسرّع الجسيمات المصمم لأبحاث مختبر الفيزياء في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، بيركلي ، ولاحقًا في مختبر هارفارد سيكلوترون. افتتح أول مركز للعلاج بالبروتونات في البلاد في عام 1950 في المركز الطبي بجامعة لوما ليندا في جنوب كاليفورنيا. منذ ذلك الحين ، تم افتتاح أكثر من عشرين مركزًا للعلاج بالبروتونات يركز على المريض في الولايات المتحدة ، بما في ذلك مركز علاج السرطان بالبروتونات في كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو.

 

تكلفة العلاج بالبروتون

تعتمد تكلفة العلاج بالبروتون على نوع السرطان وموقع الورم والمرحلة وعدد العلاجات اللازمة وعوامل أخرى. في حين أنه في بعض الحالات يكون أكثر تكلفة من الأشعة السينية التقليدية ، فإن الآثار الجانبية طويلة المدى وفرص تكرارها تقل بسبب التكنولوجيا الأكثر تقدمًا والدقة التي تقلل بشكل كبير من الإشعاع إلى الأنسجة والأعضاء السليمة القريبة.

Maximum treatment.
Minimum side effects.


California Protons uses revolutionary proton beam technology to help fight cancer with unmatched precision and the utmost care.

Proton therapy is a highly accurate and much less invasive form of cancer treatment. Protons are subatomic particles with a positive charge that can be manipulated and controlled to stop and deliver radiation directly at a tumor, traveling no further than the exterior tumor wall. This is particularly beneficial to those who are vulnerable to radiation or have received prior radiation either to or immediately adjacent to the area that needs to be treated.

Proton Therapy vs.
Standard X-ray Radiation

Standard X-ray and proton radiation are both types of “external beam” radiotherapy used to treat various types of cancers. However, the properties of each are very different and result in varying levels of radiation exposure. Standard X-ray treatment beams deposit energy along their paths before reaching the tumor, thus delivering unnecessary and potentially harmful radiation to healthy tissues and surrounding organs. Proton therapy doses, on the other hand, can be controlled to deposit most of the energy inside the tumor.

X-Ray Radiation

  • Contains no mass or electric charge
  • Highly penetrating rays can deliver radiation throughout any volume of tissue
  • Rays deposit most of the initial dose of radiation (entry dose) close to the patient’s skin, while interacting with the healthy cells closer to the surface, and then drop the remaining dose of ionizing radiation on the deeper diseased cells
  • Rays continue to emit radiation as they naturally pass through the body (exit dose) similar to X-ray imaging

Pencil Beam Proton Therapy Radiation

  • Beam made up of heavy, charged particles
  • Protons enter the body and deposit only a small dose along the way to the target and virtually none beyond it
  • The absorbed dose increases very gradually with greater dose and lower speed until the beam reaches the Bragg peak—the point at which the maximum energy is deposited—which is directed exactly within the tumor site
  • Immediately after this burst of energy, the proton beam comes to a complete stop, and any additional radiation ceases

Our Pencil Beam Scanning Technology

Precisely delivered within 2 millimeters, our pencil beam scanning technology (known as Intensity Modulated Proton Therapy or IMPT) releases a high dose of cancer-killing radiation that conforms to the unique shape and size of the tumor. Even in hard-to-scan places, our doctors can direct and manipulate the beam of protons to stop precisely at the edge of the tumor to spare healthy tissues and surrounding organs.

Unlike older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our center’s pencil beam scanning technology further enhances the precision of the radiation delivered. By enabling physicians to fine-tune the range and intensity of the proton beam, we can sweep a narrow proton beam across the tumor in fine strokes, while increasing intensity and dose layer by layer inside the tumor. California Protons was the first in the nation to offer pencil beam proton technology in all five of our treatment rooms.


Cone Beam CT Imaging

California Protons is the only proton therapy facility in all of California, and only one of a handful throughout the U.S., to consistently utilize Cone Beam CT (CBCT). This notable advancement in CT imaging helps us bring the most advanced technology to our patients.

Used in conjunction with our pencil beam scanning technology, Cone Beam CT enables a more compact, faster and safer version of regular CT imaging. Through the use of a cone-shaped X-ray beam, the radiation dose, size of the scanner and time needed for scanning are all dramatically reduced, while the image accuracy is improved. The time needed for a full scan is typically under one minute and the radiation dose is up to a hundred times less than that of a regular CT scanner.


Varian ProBeam Proton System

Our center is home to one of the largest state-of-the-art proton systems in the country, comprised of a cyclotron, beamline, two fixed beam treatment rooms and three rotational gantry treatment rooms.

The Cyclotron is a 90-ton device engineered to generate about 5 trillion protons per second and then accelerate protons outwards from the center along a spiral path at roughly 100,000 miles per second, or 0.61 times the speed of light, to create a beam that can precisely reach tumors. The proton beam travels from the cyclotron to the beam line, which spans the length of the building, and uses a series of electromagnets to bend and focus the beam into each treatment room. From there, the protons are delivered with mechanical precision to one of the two fixed beam treatment rooms or three rotational gantry rooms through a specialized nozzle. The 280-ton rotational gantry machine rotates 360˚ around the patient to ensure an ideal treatment angle.


7 Main Benefits of Proton Beam Technology

Laser-like precision
Protons can be manipulated to stop and deliver radiation directly at a tumor and no further.

Radiation dose variation
Proton therapy allows physicians to vary the intensity of the radiation dose at any point within the tumor, which was not possible with other technologies.

Treatment for many tumor types
Our technology expands the treatment options to treat larger and more irregularly shaped tumors. It also allows more types of tumors to be treated compared to what was possible with passively scattered protons.

Lower incidence of secondary tumors
Reduced radiation toxicity results in a lower incidence of secondary tumors compared to standard X-ray radiation.

Minimal side effects
Because proton therapy spares healthy tissue surrounding a tumor, side effects such as diarrhea, nausea, headache and loss of appetite are less likely. After treatment, most patients resume their daily routines.

Fast treatment time
We replaced the heavy, cumbersome devices of older passive-scattering proton technology with pencil beam scanning. Unlike the older technology, our treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes so that patients can get back to their lives quicker.

Personalized care
Our world-renowned medical team is committed to providing the most personalized, comprehensive cancer care for our patients, and offers the latest in medical advancements and technology. Learn More


Treatment Details &
Life During Treatment

Proton therapy is a noninvasive and often painless treatment, during which patients feel no physical sensation from the proton beam, hear very little noise and experience minimal discomfort. Unlike the older technology, each treatment session takes around 30 minutes, with the actual treatment time taking only 1 to 3 minutes. Full two-way video and audio allow medical team members and patients to communicate throughout the process.

In many cases, side effects associated with external beam radiation therapy such as diarrhea, headache and loss of appetite are fewer with proton therapy than with X-ray therapy. Most patients are able to continue their usual activities throughout their treatment, including working, exercising and socializing. However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss potential complications and side effects, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

Questions about proton therapy? We can help.

History of Proton Therapy

In 1946, American physicist and former Manhattan Project group leader Robert Wilson laid the groundwork for the field of proton therapy with the publication of his landmark paper, “Radiological use of Fast Protons.” In this paper, he was the first to suggest that protons could be used clinically, sparing normal tissue and allowing for the maximum placement of the radiation dose inside the tumor.

The first proton radiation treatments were performed in the mid-1950s using a particle accelerator built for physics laboratory research at the University of California, Berkeley, and later at the Harvard Cyclotron Laboratory. The nation’s first hospital-based proton therapy center opened in 1990 at the Loma Linda University Medical Center in Southern California. Since then, more than twenty patient-focused proton therapy centers have opened in the United States, including the California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego.