858.283.4771

癌症

肺癌的質子治療


像激光一樣精準地對抗肺癌

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是肺癌放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠選擇性地以高劑量放射線靶向肺部腫瘤,與X射線放射線相比,其放射緩解的機會更大。

與較早的被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可為2毫米以內的肺癌提供精確的質子束放射治療,並提供最大的呵護。 我們可以逐層攻擊腫瘤,並最大程度地減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 這對肺癌患者很重要,因為肺部位於幾個最敏感和最重要的器官和組織附近,包括心臟,食道和脊髓。 降低與輻射有關的毒性對於肺功能受損或心血管疾病的患者也特別有益。

肺癌
治療細節

我們治療的肺癌類型

  • 非小細胞肺癌
  • 小細胞肺癌
  • 惡性間皮瘤
  • 選擇的複發和轉移性癌症
  • 縱隔腫瘤(胸腺瘤,肉瘤)
  • 復發性癌症

我們如何治療肺癌

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護您的心臟,食道,脊髓和健康的肺組織
  • 肺癌治療期間維持生活質量
  • 減少治療的副作用,包括食道炎和肺炎
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

質子療法對肺癌的益處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術精確地控制了質子,以將布拉格峰(它們最大的能量沉積點)直接置於肺腫瘤中。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 先進的針對肺癌的質子療法治療使醫生能夠更有選擇地向癌性肺腫瘤和組織提供高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 減少對患病肺周圍健康組織的輻射可以將對健康肺,心臟,食道和脊髓組織的損害降至最低。 這是非常重要的,因為損壞這些敏感結構可能會產生嚴重的副作用,例如食道炎和肺炎,並降低您的生活質量。 我們的技術還可以減少對骨髓的輻射,從而可以減少與治療有關的疲勞。
  • 許多患者患有潛在的肺部或心臟疾病。 筆形光束掃描的精確度可最大程度地減少對這些區域的輻射暴露,並有助於防止這些情況的惡化。
  • 研究表明,質子療法在治療非小細胞肺癌方面與X射線輻射一樣有效,並且可以減少副作用,例如肺部和食道的炎症。 研究表明,某些肺癌患者可以接受更高的治療劑量,而放射副作用更少。
  • 與舊技術不同,肺癌質子治療治療計劃可以加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

是質子療法
肺癌適合您嗎?

 

僅有約20%的肺部腫瘤可以通過手術治療; 其餘的通常需要高劑量的放射線或放射線和其他治療的組合。 肺癌的類型,年齡,總體健康狀況和個人喜好也會影響治療選擇。

治療
復發性肺癌

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在以前用常規放射療法治療過的區域中。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


肺癌質子療法的治療結果和長期療效

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子療法治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少了由於食道和肺的輻射損傷而導致的長期和可能威脅生命的副作用,例如食道炎和肺炎。 由於減少了對周圍健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,因此還可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Lung
Cancer

Fight Lung Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Lung Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target lung tumors with high-dose radiation that can result in a greater chance of remission over X-ray radiation.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers proton radiation treatment for lung cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for lung cancer patients because the lungs are located near several of the most sensitive and critical organs and tissues, including the heart, esophagus and spinal cord. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity is also particularly beneficial for patients with compromised lung function or cardiovascular disease.

Lung Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Non-small cell lung cancer
  • Small cell lung cancer
  • Malignant mesothelioma
  • Selected recurrent and metastatic cancer
  • Mediastinal tumors (thymoma, sarcoma)
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your heart, esophagus, spinal cord and healthy lung tissue
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including esophagitis and pneumonitis
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Lung Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous lung tumors and tissues, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Reduced radiation to healthy tissues around a diseased lung can minimize damage to a healthy lung, heart, esophagus, and spinal cord tissues. This is extremely important as damage to these sensitive structures may have significant side effects such as esophagitis and pneumonitis, and lower your quality of life. Our technology also reduces radiation to bone marrow, which may reduce treatment-related fatigue.
  • Many patients suffer from underlying lung or heart diseases. The pinpoint accuracy of pencil beam scanning minimizes radiation exposure to these areas and helps prevent worsening of these conditions.
  • Research shows that proton therapy is as effective as X-ray radiation in treating non-small cell lung cancer and may reduce side effects such as inflammation of the lungs and esophagus. Studies show some lung cancer patients can receive higher therapeutic doses with fewer radiation side effects.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Only about 20 percent of lung tumors can be treated with surgery; the rest typically require high doses of radiation or a combination of radiation and other treatments. Treatment options also are affected by the type of lung cancer, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with conventional radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as esophagitis and pneumonitis due to radiation damage to the esophagus and lung. It also offers the possibility of lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options