858.283.4771
البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية
السرطان.

العلاج بالبروتون لعلاج سرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية


حارب سرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية بدقة تشبه الليزر

تعد تقنية المسح الضوئي بالحزمة بالقلم الرصاص المعدلة بكثافة في California Protons علاجًا عالي الدقة وفعالًا لسرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية التي تمكن أطبائنا من استهداف أورام البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية بشكل انتقائي بجرعات عالية من الإشعاع داخل هذه المنطقة الحساسة والصعبة.

مقارنة بعلاج العلاج بالبروتون المتناثر السلبي القديم لِعلاج سرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية، توفر تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص الخاصة بنا بدقة العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية في حدود 2 ملليمتر وبأقصى درجات الرعاية. يمكننا مهاجمة الأورام طبقة تلو الأخرى وتقليل التعرض الضار للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة. هذا مهم لمرضى سرطان البنكرياس لأن تقليل الإشعاع إلى الأنسجة الصحية المحيطة أمر بالغ الأهمية حيث يقع البنكرياس بالقرب من العديد من الأنسجة والأعضاء الحساسة والحرجة. كما أن تقليل السمية المرتبطة بالإشعاع يزيد أيضًا من احتمالية أن يتمكن المرضى من إكمال العلاج بانقطاع أو تأخير أقل.

سرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية
تفاصيل العلاج بالبروتون

ما نتعامل معه

  • سرطان البنكرياس
  • سرطان القناة الصفراوية (سرطان القنوات الصفراوية)
  • سرطان متكرر

ما الذي نوفره لك

  • استهدف الورم فقط
  • حماية الكبد والمعدة والكليتين والأمعاء الدقيقة والحبل الشوكي
  • حافظ على جودة حياتك أثناء علاج سرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية
  • الحد من الآثار الجانبية للعلاج ، بما في ذلك الغثيان والقيء وحرقة المعدة والتقلصات وسوء الامتصاص (عدم القدرة على امتصاص العناصر الغذائية من الطعام) والإسهال والجفاف
  • يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي بسبب الإشعاع

بالمقارنة مع الأشعة السينية ، يقلل العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان البنكرياس من التعرض للإشعاع للأعضاء الحيوية من خلال:

78
تقليل التعرض للإشعاع للنخاع الشوكي1
55
تقليل التعرض للإشعاع للكبد1

فوائد العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية

  • تتحكم تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص الخاصة بنا بدقة في البروتونات لوضع ذروة Bragg - النقطة التي يودعون عندها أقصى طاقتهم - مباشرة في الورم. هذا يسمح لنا بمعالجة أشكال الورم الأكثر تعقيدًا وتغيير الجرعة داخل الورم.
  • يسمح العلاج المتقدم بالبروتون للأطباء بتوصيل أشعة الجرعات بشكل أكثر انتقائية إلى أورام وأنسجة البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية السرطانية ، وتقليل الجرعة إلى الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة والأعضاء الحرجة. وقد ثبت أن هذا يقدم معدلات علاج أعلى من العلاج الإشعاعي بالأشعة السينية حتى في بعض المواقف الأكثر صعوبة.
  • يمكن للأطباء تقديم جرعات عالية من العلاج الإشعاعي بدقة إلى الخلايا السرطانية ، دون تناول جرعة زائدة من الأعضاء الحرجة والأنسجة الهشة ، مثل الكبد والمعدة والكليتين والأمعاء الدقيقة والحبل الشوكي. حفظ هذه الأنسجة السليمة مهم للغاية حيث أن تلف هذه الهياكل الحساسة يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تقرح وانثقاب ونزيف داخلي وفشل.
  • يمكن استخدام التقنيات المتخصصة مع العلاج بالبروتون لاستهداف الهياكل والأعضاء المتحركة بدقة تقنية أكبر. هذا مهم لعلاج سرطان البنكرياس ، عندما تكون الدقة هي المفتاح.
  • على عكس التكنولوجيا القديمة ، يمكن تحميل خطة العلاج في الكمبيوتر وإكمالها في غضون دقائق. العلاجات أيضًا غير جراحية ومريحة حتى يتمكن المرضى من العودة إلى أنشطتهم اليومية بشكل أسرع.

Is
العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية
مناسب لك؟

 

في حين يُنصح بإجراء جراحة استئصال البنكرياس أو إجراء ويبل بشكل عام لسرطان البنكرياس المبكر (القابل للتصحيح) الذي لم ينتشر ، فقد يوصى بالعلاج الإشعاعي أيضًا لضمان قتل جميع الخلايا السرطانية. يمكن استخدام العلاج الإشعاعي والكيميائي أيضًا في المرضى الذين لا يستطيعون الخضوع لعملية جراحية. تتأثر خيارات العلاج أيضًا بنوع سرطان البنكرياس والعمر والصحة العامة والتفضيلات الشخصية.

في المرحلة الأولى ، يوجد سرطان البنكرياس في البنكرياس فقط ولكن نموه المحلي يؤثر على أكثر من طبقة واحدة من الخلايا. في حين أن الجراحة لإزالة الورم هي العلاج الأكثر شيوعًا ، غالبًا ما يوصى بالعلاج الإشعاعي للمرحلة الأولى من سرطان البنكرياس الذي يمكن استئصاله لضمان موت جميع الخلايا السرطانية.

انتشر سرطان البنكرياس في المرحلة الثانية خارج البنكرياس أو العقد الليمفاوية. في حين أن الجراحة لإزالة الورم هي العلاج الأكثر شيوعًا ، غالبًا ما يوصى بالعلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان البنكرياس الذي يمكن تصحيحه في المرحلة الثانية لضمان قتل جميع الخلايا السرطانية وتقليل خطر انتشار السرطان أو عودته.

انتشر السرطان في الأوعية الدموية الرئيسية أو الأعصاب ولكنه لم ينتقل أو يصيب الأعضاء الأخرى. في حين أن الجراحة لإزالة الورم هي العلاج الأكثر شيوعًا ، فمن المحتمل ألا يتمكن الأطباء من إزالته بالكامل. في المرحلة الثالثة ، يكون سرطان البنكرياس متقدمًا محليًا وقد يوصى بالإشعاع في محاولة لتقليص الورم ، والحد من نمو الورم الإضافي وتقليل خطر الانتشار إلى مناطق أخرى من الجسم.

في المرحلة الرابعة من سرطان البنكرياس ، انتشر السرطان من البنكرياس إلى الأعضاء الأخرى. العلاج الدوائي مثل العلاج الكيميائي هو العلاج الرئيسي الموصى به لمرضى سرطان البنكرياس النقيلي. بينما يمكن إجراء الجراحة ، لا يمكن إزالة هذه السرطانات تمامًا. يمكن استخدام العلاج الإشعاعي البروتوني لتقليص الأورام أو السيطرة على الألم.

علاج ل
سرطان البنكرياس المتكرر

غالبًا ما يكون العلاج بالبروتون هو أفضل طريقة للعلاج أورام متكررة في المناطق التي سبق علاجها بالعلاج الإشعاعي.

يمكن أن يكون علاج المناطق المشععة سابقًا أمرًا صعبًا. لا تنسى الأنسجة السليمة حول الورم المتكرر جرعة الإشعاع السابقة تمامًا ، وتستمر أي جرعة مضافة في زيادة خطر إصابة الأنسجة الطبيعية. قد يمكّن العلاج بحزمة البروتون الأطباء من تركيز الجرعة بشكل أفضل على الهدف وتحديدها في مكان آخر ، مما يسمح بإعادة العلاج بالإشعاع في المرضى المختارين.


نتائج علاج البروتون في البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية والتأثيرات طويلة المدى

قد يقدم العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان البنكرياس في مركز كاليفورنيا لعلاج السرطان البروتوني في سان دييجو نتائج مماثلة للإشعاع القياسي بالأشعة السينية ، مع تقليل الآثار الجانبية طويلة الأمد والتي قد تهدد الحياة مثل التقرح والانثقاب والنزيف الداخلي وفشل الأعضاء بسبب للضرر الإشعاعي للكبد والكلى وأعضاء الجهاز الهضمي. قد يقلل أيضًا من فرص الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي في وقت لاحق من الحياة بسبب انخفاض التعرض للإشعاع للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة بك.

ومع ذلك ، فإن جميع علاجات السرطان لها مزايا وعيوب. تأكد من مناقشة جميع المخاطر المحتملة ، وكذلك خيارات العلاج ، مع طبيب الأورام الخاص بك.

عن العلاج بالبروتون

خيارات التغطية

الأسئلة المتكررة

Pancreatic & Bile Duct
Cancer

Fight Pancreatic & Bile Duct Cancer with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Pancreatic & Bile Duct Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target pancreatic and bile duct tumors with high-dose radiation within this sensitive and challenging area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for pancreatic and bile duct cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for pancreatic cancer patients because minimizing radiation to surrounding healthy tissue is crucial as your pancreas is located near several sensitive and critical tissues and organs. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Pancreatic & Bile Duct Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Pancreatic cancer
  • Bile duct cancer (cholangiocarcinoma)
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your liver, stomach, kidneys, small intestine and spinal cord
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including nausea, vomiting, heartburn, cramping, malabsorption (inability to absorb nutrients from food), diarrhea and dehydration
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Compared to X-ray radiation, proton therapy for pancreatic cancer reduces radiation exposure to vital organs by:

78
Reduced radiation exposure to the spinal cord1
55
Reduced radiation exposure to the liver1

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Pancreatic & Bile Duct Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous pancreatic and bile duct tumors and tissues, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. This has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Doctors can meticulously deliver high treatment doses of radiation to tumor cells, without overdosing surrounding critical organs and fragile tissues, such as your liver, stomach, kidneys, small intestine and spinal cord. Sparing these healthy tissues is extremely important as damage to these sensitive structures can result in ulceration, perforation, internal bleeding and failure.
  • Specialized techniques can be used with proton therapy to target moving structures and organs with greater technical precision. This is important for the treatment of pancreatic cancer, when precision is key.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also non-invasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

While pancreatectomy surgery or the Whipple procedure is generally recommended for early-stage (resectable) pancreatic cancer that has not spread, radiation therapy may be recommended as well to ensure all of the cancer cells have been killed. Radiation and chemotherapy may also be used in patients who cannot undergo surgery. Treatment options are also affected by the type of pancreatic cancer, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Cancer is found in the pancreas only but its local growth affects more than a single layer of cells. While surgery to remove the tumor is the most common treatment, radiation therapy for stage I resectable pancreatic cancer is often recommended to ensure all of the cancer cells have been killed.

Cancer has spread outside the pancreas or to lymph nodes. While surgery to remove the tumor is the most common treatment, radiation therapy for resectable stage II pancreatic cancer is often recommended to ensure all of the cancer cells have been killed and to reduce the risk of cancer spreading or returning.

Cancer has spread into major blood vessels or nerves but has not metastasized or affected other organs. While surgery to remove the tumor is the most common treatment, doctors likely are not able to remove all of it. At this stage, the cancer is locally advanced and radiation may recommended in an attempt to shrink the tumor, limit additional tumor growth and reduce the risk of spread to other areas of the body.

Cancer has spread to other organs. Drug therapy such as chemotherapy is the main treatment recommended for patients with metastatic pancreatic cancer. While surgery may be performed, these cancers cannot be completely removed. Proton radiation treatment may be used to shrink tumors or control pain.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as ulceration, perforation, internal bleeding and organ failures due to radiation damage to the liver, kidneys and gastrointestinal organs. It may also lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to the reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options