858.283.4771
甲狀腺
癌症

甲狀腺癌的質子治療


像激光一樣精準地對抗甲狀腺癌

California Protons的強度調製鉛筆束掃描技術是甲狀腺癌放射治療的一種高精度形式,使我們的醫生能夠在這個敏感而復雜的區域內以高劑量放射線選擇性靶向甲狀腺腫瘤。

與較舊的甲狀腺癌被動散射質子治療相比,我們的筆形束掃描技術可在2毫米內精確地提供放射治療,並提供最大的照顧。 我們可以逐層攻擊腫瘤,並最大程度地減少對周圍健康組織和器官的有害暴露。 這對於甲狀腺癌患者很重要,因為他們通常需要高劑量的輻射。 輻射到腫瘤周圍的健康組織會影響您的說話,進食,品嚐和吞嚥的能力,還可能會暫時或永久改變您的外表。 輻射相關毒性的降低還增加了患者以較少的中斷或延遲完成治療的可能性。

甲狀腺癌
治療細節

我們對待什麼

  • 甲狀腺乳頭狀癌
  • 甲狀腺濾泡癌
  • 甲狀腺髓樣癌
  • 間變性甲狀腺癌
  • 復發性甲狀腺癌

我們做什麼

  • 僅靶向腫瘤
  • 保護食道,語音盒,肺和脊髓
  • 甲狀腺癌治療期間保持生活質量
  • 減少治療的副作用,包括說話,進食,品嚐和吞嚥能力受損
  • 降低因輻射而繼發癌症的風險

質子治療甲狀腺癌的好處

  • 我們的筆形束掃描技術可以精確地控制質子,使其直接在腫瘤中放置布拉格峰(布拉格峰最大的能量沉積點)。 這使我們能夠治療更複雜的腫瘤形狀並改變腫瘤內的劑量。
  • 用於甲狀腺癌的高級質子療法使醫生能夠更有選擇地向癌性甲狀腺腫瘤和組織提供高劑量輻射,並減少對周圍健康組織和關鍵器官的劑量。 在某些情況下,即使在某些最具挑戰性的情況下,該方法也能提供比X射線輻射治療更高的治愈率。
  • 質子束療法將最大的能量直接沉積在腫瘤中,這可以減少輻射對口腔,頸部和胸部以及周圍,周圍的敏感器官和健康組織的輻射。
  • 保留甲狀腺腫瘤周圍的健康組織非常重要,因為對該區域的損害可能會產生嚴重的副作用,例如暫時或永久性損害您的說話,進食,味覺和吞嚥能力。
  • 與舊技術不同,質子治療甲狀腺癌的治療計劃可以加載到計算機中,並在幾分鐘之內完成。 治療也是無創且方便的,因此患者可以更快地恢復其日常活動。

是甲狀腺的質子療法
癌症適合您嗎?

 

根據甲狀腺癌的分期,某些甲狀腺腫瘤可能需要聯合手術,放射碘治療,化學療法和放射治療。 甲狀腺癌的治療選擇也會受到甲狀腺癌的類型,年齡,整體健康狀況和個人喜好的影響。

復發治療
甲狀腺癌

質子療法通常是最好的治療方法 復發性腫瘤 在先前已接受放射治療的地區。

治療先前受過輻照的區域可能具有挑戰性。 復發性腫瘤周圍的健康組織不能完全“忘記”先前的放射劑量,任何增加的劑量繼續增加正常組織損傷的風險。 質子束療法可以使醫生更好地將劑量集中在目標上,並將其限制在其他地方,從而可以對部分患者進行放射治療。


甲狀腺癌的質子治療結果及長期療效

位於聖地亞哥的加利福尼亞質子癌症治療中心的質子療法治療可能會提供與標準X射線輻射相似的結果,同時減少長期且可能威脅生命的副作用,例如由於以下原因導致的說話,進食,味覺和吞嚥能力受損輻射損壞頭部,頸部和喉嚨。 由於減少了對周圍健康組織和器官的輻射暴露,它也可能降低以後罹患繼發性癌症的機會。

但是,所有癌症治療方法都有其優點和缺點。 確保與您的腫瘤科醫生討論所有潛在風險以及治療方案。

關於質子治療

承保範圍

常見問題

Thyroid
Cancer

Fight Thyroid Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Thyroid Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target thyroid tumors with high-dose radiation within this sensitive and intricate area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for thyroid cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for thyroid cancer patients as they typically require high doses of radiation. Radiation to healthy tissues around the tumor can affect your ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow, and can also alter your appearance either temporarily or permanently. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Thyroid Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Papillary thyroid cancer
  • Follicular thyroid cancer
  • Medullary thyroid cancer
  • Anaplastic thyroid cancer
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your esophagus, voice box, lungs and spinal cord
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including impaired ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Thyroid Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous thyroid tumors and tissues, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Proton beam therapy deposits the maximum energy directly in the tumor, which can reduce radiation exposure to sensitive organs and healthy tissues in and around the mouth, neck and chest.
  • Sparing healthy tissues around the tumor is extremely important as damage to this area can have significant side effects, such as a temporary or permanent impairment of your ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Depending on the stage of thyroid cancer, combined treatments of surgery, radioactive iodine therapy, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some thyroid tumors. Treatment options are also affected by the type of thyroid cancer, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Proton Therapy Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as the impaired ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow due to radiation damage to the head, neck and throat. It may also lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options