858.283.4771
الغدة الدرقية
السرطان.

العلاج البروتوني لسرطان الغدة الدرقية


محاربة سرطان الغدة الدرقية بدقة تشبه الليزر

تعد تكنولوجيا مسح شعاع قلم رصاص المعدلة بشكل مكثف في كاليفورنيا بروتونز شكلًا دقيقًا للغاية من العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان الغدة الدرقية الذي يمكن أطبائنا من استهداف أورام الغدة الدرقية بشكل انتقائي بجرعة عالية من الإشعاع داخل هذه المنطقة الحساسة والمعقدة.

مقارنةً بعلاج البروتون القديم المتناثر السلبي لسرطان الغدة الدرقية ، فإن تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص لدينا تقدم بدقة العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان الغدة الدرقية في حدود 2 ملليمتر وبأقصى درجات الرعاية. يمكننا مهاجمة الأورام طبقة تلو الأخرى وتقليل التعرض الضار للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة. هذا مهم لمرضى سرطان الغدة الدرقية لأنهم عادة ما يحتاجون إلى جرعات عالية من الإشعاع. يمكن أن يؤثر الإشعاع على الأنسجة السليمة حول الورم على قدرتك على الكلام والأكل والتذوق والبلع ، ويمكن أيضًا أن يغير مظهرك إما مؤقتًا أو بشكل دائم. كما أن تقليل السمية المرتبطة بالإشعاع يزيد أيضًا من احتمالية أن يتمكن المرضى من إكمال العلاج بانقطاع أو تأخير أقل.

سرطان الغدة الدرقية
تفاصيل العلاج

ما نتعامل معه

  • سرطان الغدة الدرقية الحليمي
  • سرطان الغدة الدرقية المسامي
  • سرطان الغدة الدرقية النخاعي
  • سرطان الغدة الدرقية المفرط
  • سرطان الغدة الدرقية المتكرر

ما الذي نوفره لك

  • استهدف الورم فقط
  • حماية المريء وصندوق الصوت والرئتين والحبل الشوكي
  • حافظ على جودة حياتك أثناء علاج سرطان الغدة الدرقية
  • الحد من الآثار الجانبية للعلاج ، بما في ذلك ضعف القدرة على الكلام والأكل والطعم والبلع
  • يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي بسبب الإشعاع

فوائد العلاج بالبروتون لسرطان الغدة الدرقية

  • تتحكم تقنية مسح شعاع قلم الرصاص الخاصة بنا بدقة في البروتونات لوضع ذروة Bragg - النقطة التي يودعون عندها أقصى طاقتهم - مباشرة في الورم. هذا يسمح لنا بمعالجة أشكال الورم الأكثر تعقيدًا وتغيير الجرعة داخل الورم.
  • يسمح العلاج المتقدم بالبروتون لسرطان الغدة الدرقية للأطباء بتوصيل أشعة الجرعات بشكل أكثر انتقائية إلى أورام وأنسجة الغدة الدرقية السرطانية ، وتقليل الجرعة إلى الأنسجة السليمة المحيطة والأعضاء الحرجة. في بعض الحالات ، ثبت أن هذا يقدم معدلات علاج أعلى من العلاج الإشعاعي بالأشعة السينية حتى في بعض الحالات الأكثر صعوبة.
  • يضيف العلاج بحزمة البروتون أقصى طاقة مباشرة في الورم ، مما يمكن أن يقلل من التعرض للإشعاع للأعضاء الحساسة والأنسجة الصحية في وحول الفم والرقبة والصدر.
  • يعتبر الحفاظ على الأنسجة السليمة حول ورم الغدة الدرقية أمرًا مهمًا للغاية حيث يمكن أن يكون للتلف في هذه المنطقة آثار جانبية كبيرة ، مثل ضعف مؤقت أو دائم لقدرتك على التحدث والأكل والطعم والبلع.
  • على عكس التكنولوجيا القديمة ، يمكن تحميل خطة علاج سرطان الغدة الدرقية بروتون في الكمبيوتر وإكمالها في غضون دقائق. تعتبر العلاجات أيضًا غير جراحية ومريحة حتى يتمكن المرضى من العودة إلى أنشطتهم اليومية بشكل أسرع.

هو العلاج بالبروتون للغدة الدرقية
هل السرطان مناسب لك؟

 

اعتمادًا على مرحلة سرطان الغدة الدرقية ، قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى علاجات الجراحة والعلاج باليود المشع والعلاج الكيميائي والإشعاع لبعض أورام الغدة الدرقية. تتأثر أيضًا خيارات علاج سرطان الغدة الدرقية بنوع سرطان الغدة الدرقية والعمر والصحة العامة والتفضيلات الشخصية.

علاج المتكررة
سرطان الغدة الدرقية

غالبًا ما يكون العلاج بالبروتون هو أفضل طريقة للعلاج أورام متكررة في المناطق التي سبق علاجها بالعلاج الإشعاعي.

يمكن أن يكون علاج المناطق المشععة سابقًا أمرًا صعبًا. لا تنسى الأنسجة السليمة حول الورم المتكرر جرعة الإشعاع السابقة تمامًا ، وتستمر أي جرعة مضافة في زيادة خطر إصابة الأنسجة الطبيعية. قد يمكّن العلاج بحزمة البروتون الأطباء من تركيز الجرعة بشكل أفضل على الهدف وتحديدها في مكان آخر ، مما يسمح بإعادة العلاج بالإشعاع في المرضى المختارين.


العلاج بالبروتون لنتائج علاج سرطان الغدة الدرقية والتأثيرات طويلة المدى

قد يقدم علاج العلاج بالبروتون في مركز كاليفورنيا لعلاج سرطان البروتون في سان دييغو نتائج مشابهة للإشعاع بالأشعة السينية القياسية ، مع الحد من الآثار الجانبية طويلة المدى والمهددة للحياة مثل ضعف القدرة على الكلام والأكل والطعم والبلع بسبب الضرر الإشعاعي للرأس والرقبة والحنجرة. قد يقلل أيضًا من فرص الإصابة بالسرطان الثانوي في وقت لاحق في الحياة بسبب انخفاض التعرض للإشعاع للأنسجة والأعضاء الصحية المحيطة بك.

ومع ذلك ، فإن جميع علاجات السرطان لها مزايا وعيوب. تأكد من مناقشة جميع المخاطر المحتملة ، وكذلك خيارات العلاج ، مع طبيب الأورام الخاص بك.

عن العلاج بالبروتون

خيارات التغطية

الأسئلة المتكررة

Thyroid
Cancer

Fight Thyroid Cancer
with Laser-like Precision


Proton Therapy for Thyroid Cancer

California Protons’ intensity-modulated pencil beam scanning technology is a highly precise form of cancer radiation treatment that enables our doctors to selectively target thyroid tumors with high-dose radiation within this sensitive and intricate area.

Compared with older passive-scattering proton therapy treatment, our pencil beam scanning technology precisely delivers radiation treatment for thyroid cancer within 2 millimeters and with the utmost care. We can attack tumors layer by layer and minimize harmful exposure to surrounding healthy tissue and organs. This is important for thyroid cancer patients as they typically require high doses of radiation. Radiation to healthy tissues around the tumor can affect your ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow, and can also alter your appearance either temporarily or permanently. The reduction of radiation-related toxicity also increases the likelihood that patients can complete treatment with fewer interruptions or delays.

Thyroid Cancer
Treatment Details

What We Treat

  • Papillary thyroid cancer
  • Follicular thyroid cancer
  • Medullary thyroid cancer
  • Anaplastic thyroid cancer
  • Recurrent cancer

What We Do

  • Target the tumor only
  • Protect your esophagus, voice box, lungs and spinal cord
  • Maintain your quality of life during treatment
  • Reduce side effects of treatment, including impaired ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow
  • Lower the risk of secondary cancer due to radiation

Benefits of Proton Therapy for Thyroid Cancer

  • Our pencil beam scanning technology precisely controls protons to place the Bragg peak—the point at which they deposit their maximum energy—directly in the tumor. This allows us to treat more complex tumor shapes and vary the dose within the tumor.
  • Advanced proton therapy allows doctors to more selectively deliver high-dose radiation to cancerous thyroid tumors and tissues, and reduce the dose to surrounding healthy tissues and critical organs. In some cases, this has been shown to deliver higher cure rates than X-ray radiation treatment even in some of the most challenging situations.
  • Proton beam therapy deposits the maximum energy directly in the tumor, which can reduce radiation exposure to sensitive organs and healthy tissues in and around the mouth, neck and chest.
  • Sparing healthy tissues around the tumor is extremely important as damage to this area can have significant side effects, such as a temporary or permanent impairment of your ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow.
  • Unlike with older technology, the treatment plan can be loaded into the computer and completed within a matter of minutes. Treatments are also noninvasive and convenient so patients can get back to their daily activities quicker.

Is
Proton Therapy
Right for You?

 

Depending on the stage of thyroid cancer, combined treatments of surgery, radioactive iodine therapy, chemotherapy and radiation may be needed for some thyroid tumors. Treatment options are also affected by the type of thyroid cancer, age, overall health and personal preferences.

Treatment for
Recurrent Cancer

Proton therapy is often the best way to treat recurrent tumors in areas that have previously been treated with radiation therapy.

Treating previously irradiated areas can be challenging. The healthy tissues around the recurrent tumor do not fully “forget” the previous radiation dose, and any added dose continues to increase the risk of normal tissue injury. Proton beam therapy may enable doctors to better concentrate the dose to the target and limit it elsewhere, allowing re-treatment with radiation in select patients.


Proton Therapy Treatment Outcomes &
Long-Term Effects

Proton therapy treatment at California Protons Cancer Therapy Center in San Diego may offer similar outcomes to standard X-ray radiation, while reducing long-term and potentially life-threatening side effects such as the impaired ability to speak, eat, taste and swallow due to radiation damage to the head, neck and throat. It may also lower chances for secondary cancers later in life due to reduced radiation exposure to your surrounding healthy tissues and organs.

However, all cancer treatments have advantages and disadvantages. Be sure to discuss all of the potential risks, as well as treatment options, with your oncologist.

About Proton Therapy

Coverage Options